Opinion · Oregon Supreme Court
Brett v. Warnick
44 Or. 511
- Type
- Opinion
- Court
- Oregon Supreme Court
- Jurisdiction
- Oregon
- Date
- 1904-03-28
- Topic
- general
Mr. Justice Wolverton, after stating the facts in the above terms, delivered the opinion of the court. Two questions are presented: (1) Whether the complaint states a cause entitling plaintiffs to equitable relief, and (2) whether the agreement relied upon for recovery is subject to the objection that it is essentially a wagering contract, and therefore void, as in contravention of public policy. 1. As to the first, we are clear that the real purpose of the complaint is to require a specific performance of the alleged agreement to surrender the certificate upon the completed payment by Brett to the defendants Warnick of the sum of $90, which it is averred that they had formerly paid of the dues and assessments under an agreement by them with the assured, Brett having fulfilled, as he claims, the other conditions of his agreement in providing a home for the assured and paying his dues and assessments since forming the compact, and at the same time to prevent the order from paying the fund over to the defendants War-nick and to require its payment to the plaintiff. The relief is such that equity alone can adequately grant.
Citator
UpLaw has not yet analyzed Brett v. Warnick. The absence of a flag is not a finding that it is good law.
- Cited by
- 13 opinions
after stating the facts in the above terms, delivered the opinion of the court.
Two questions are presented: (1) Whether the complaint states a cause entitling plaintiffs to equitable relief, and (2) whether the agreement relied upon for recovery is subject to the objection that it is essentially a wagering contract, and therefore void, as in contravention of public policy.
1. As to the first, we are clear that the real purpose of the complaint is to require a specific performance of the alleged agreement to surrender the certificate upon the completed payment by Brett to the defendants Warnick of the sum of $90, which it is averred that they had formerly paid of the dues and assessments under an agreement by them with the assured, Brett having fulfilled, as he claims, the other conditions of his agreement in providing a home for the assured and paying his dues and assessments since forming the compact, and at the same time to prevent the order from paying the fund over to the defendants War-nick and to require its payment to the plaintiff. The relief is such that equity alone can adequately grant. An action against the defendants Warnick could not have met the purpose, as they had not as yet received the fund, and a judgment against them might prove1 unavailing if they were found to be insolvent; so that the remedy at law cannot be considered as adequate as the one adopted for equitable relief. The complaint is therefore not objectionable on the ground that it discloses a want of equity.
2. Nor does the lack of the actual substitution of plain
3. It has been held that, where a person becomes a member of a mutual benefit association, under an agreement with the beneficiary named in the certificate that he, the beneficiary, shall pay all the assessments, and they are so paid accordingly, the beneficiary thus acquires a vested interest in the certificate, so that the member cannot afterward make another designation without the consent of the beneficiary: Maynard v. Vanderwerher, 30 Abb. (N. C.) 134 (24 N. Y. Supp. 932). This case, it should be noted, was reversed on appeal. The error, however, related solely to a question of fact, leaving the principle here announced unaffected: Id. 76 Hun, 25, 27 N. Y. Supp, 714. So, if a member, by valid contract, assumes to dispose of his interest in the beneficial fund of the order, virtually the proceeds of the certificate of insurance, and agrees not to change the beneficiary, in consideration of the payment by the beneficiary of all dues and assessments against such member, if not in conflict with the lawful conditions upon which the order grants the insurance, it is effectual as against the subsequent attempt of the member to annul it: Clarke v. Police Ins. Board, 123 Cal. 24 (55 Pac. 576). The doctrine appeals to us as reasonable and sound, and, being so regarded, there is nothing to hinder the member, with the assent of the beneficiary, from contracting with
4. With relation to the second question presented, the defendants urge that Brett was without an insurable interest in the life of deceased, and hence that the alleged agreement was unlawful, as being contrary to public policy. It is beyond cavil that a person may take out a policy of insurance on his own life, and make it payable to whomsoever he pleases, he being the moving spirit, and assuming the responsibility of meeting the premiums or assessments. It would seem to follow logically from this that lie might also, having effected a valid insurance upon his life, dispose of the policy, or assign it to whomsoever he desires, if the transaction is contrived in good morals, and not as a shift or cover for illegitimate purposes. But before one can be permitted to take out a policy of insurance upon the life of another for the former’s benefit he must have an insurable interest in the life of the latter. If he
The rule seems to be stated generally by a line of authorities that all the objections against taking out a policy of insurance upon the life of another, without an insurable interest in such a life, exist with equal force and potency against the holding of such a policy by mere purchase and assignment to another: Warnock v. Davis, 104 U. S. 775; Franklin Life Ins. Co. v. Hazzard, 41 Ind. 116 (13 Am. Rep. 318); Kessler v. Kuhns, 1 Ind. App. 511 (27 N. E. 980). In the latter case are collated all the principal authorities supporting the doctrine. Undoubtedly, if the policy was procured in the first instance by one without an insurable interest, its assignment to another without such an interest could not help the matter; as both transactions would be alike tainted with illegality. But where the policy is procured by one upon his own life, or by one upon the life of another in which he has an insurable interest, and therefore perfectly legitimate in its origin, another line of authorities holds that it may be assigned to one without such an interest, subject to the condition and restriction that it is not made as a cloak or cover for wagering purposes, or for mere speculation upon the life of the person upon whom the policy has been issued. It is easy to see how a contract, apparently valid in its inception, might be rendered invalid when coupled with a contract of assignment, where the purpose is eventually to procure a policy upon the life of another in whom there exists no insurable interest. For instance, a husband may take out a policy upon the life of his wife, in which, by all the authorities, he has an insurable interest. If now the policy be at once assigned to a third person without an insurable interest in the wife’s life, on condition merely that he pay the premium, nothing more, with a view to
It does not necessarily follow, however, that, where a policy is taken out upon one’s life for the benefit of another, and is assigned to a third party, who pays the premium, it stamps the'transaction as a wagering device, but it depends upon the good faith of the transaction; that is, whether the policy was in fact intended to be what it purports to be, or whether the form was adopted as a cover for a mere wager: Bliss, Life Ins. (2 ed.) § 26. “ The rule,” says Mr. Justice Earl in Olmsted v. Keyes, 85 N. Y. 593, 600 “as gathered from these authorities, is that where one takes out a policy upon his own life as an honest and bona fide transaction, and the amount insured is made payable to a person having no interest in the life, or where such a policy is assigned to one having no interest in the life, the beneficiary in the one case and the assignee in the other may hold and enforce the policy if it was valid in its inception, and the policy was not procured or the assignment made as a contrivance to circumvent the law against betting, gaming, and wagering policies. It follows, therefore, that one may, with the consent of the insurer, deal with a valid life policy as he could with any other chose in action, selling it, assigning it, disposing of it, and bequeathing it by will, and it has been well said that, if
The reasoning of this line of authorities impresses us as cogent and sound, and we feel free to adopt the doctrine thus announced as more salutary, and better calculated to
The decree of the trial court will be reversed, and the cause remanded for such other proceedings as may seem meet, not inconsistent with this opinion. Reversed.