Opinion · Indiana Supreme Court
Ohio Farmers Insurance v. Vogel
166 Ind. 239
- Type
- Opinion
- Court
- Indiana Supreme Court
- Jurisdiction
- Indiana
- Date
- 1906-02-23
- Topic
- litigation
How later courts describe this case
- “a condition against vacancy and unoccupaney, usually found in insurance policies, must be construed with relation to the character or class of property to which it relates”
Citator
UpLaw has not yet analyzed Ohio Farmers Insurance v. Vogel. The absence of a flag is not a finding that it is good law.
- Cited by
- 38 opinions
—Appellee sued appellant to recover damages for the loss by fire of a dwelling-house, insured by the latter. The policy of insurance contained a condition in these words:
“This entire policy, unless otherwise provided by agreement indorsed hereon, or added thereto, shall be void if the insured now has, or shall hereafter make or procure, any other contract of insurance, * * * or if the buildings insured herein, or any of them, now are, or shall hereafter become, vacant, or unoccupied, or occupied by tenants.”
We assume, as stated by appellant in its brief, that the second paragraph of complaint was abandoned and the trial was had upon the first paragraph, to which a demurrer was overruled. There were nine paragraphs of answer, but the controlling issue was formed on the fifth. This answer was in effect that it was provided in said policy of insurance—a copy of which is filed—that the entire policy, unless otherwise agreed to and indorsed thereon, shall be void if the building insured now is, or shall hereafter become vacant or unoccupied. After the issuance of said policy said insured building became vacant and unoccupied, and was vacant and unoccupied at the time it was burned. It is also alleged that the vacancy and unoccupancy was without the knowledge and consent of the defendant and without an agreement indorsed on the
1. The only objection presented to the complaint is “that there is no sufficient allegation of facts to show a waiver of proofs of loss.” Relating to this subject the complaint avers “that within sixty days after said fire plaintiff notified defendant of the same and of his said loss; that defendant’s agent and adjuster came and looked at the premises, investigated said loss, and thereupon refused payment of the same, and denied all liability under said policy, and thereby waived the written notice and sworn proofs of the loss provided for in said policy in case of damage or destruction of property by fire; that the plaintiff has performed on his part all the conditions of said policy of insurance.” The principle is old and thoroughly established that when a party repudiates a contract and denies liability under it, the performance of conditions precedent, such as notice, demand, tender and the like, are waived on the ground that the law will not require a thing to be done which the party entitled has excused, or given notice that it will be unavailing. This principle applies to insurance as well as other contracts. Giving effect to this. doctrine, it may be considered settled in this State that when-an insurance company has been notified of a loss under, a policy issued by it and it sends an adjusting agent to inquire into the loss, and such agent, while engaged in or at the conclusion of such business, refuses payment and denies all liability of the company under the policy, such action by the adjuster, if within the time stipulated in the policy for the making of formal proofs of loss, will be held as a waiver of proof of loss by the company.
2. It was said by this court in Aetna Ins. Co. v. Shryer (1882), 85 Ind. 362: “There is much diversity of opinion as to whether an adjuster has authority to waive preliminary proof. It would seem that the better reason is with the cases which hold that he has;
3. The reply to the fifth paragraph of answer presents a more interesting question. It involves the construction of the vacancy clause in the policy. The contract provides :
“This entire policy, unless otherwise provided by agreement indorsed hereon, * * * shall be void, * * * if the buildings insured herein * * * shall hereafter become vacant, or unoccupied, or occupied by tenants.”
The reply avers that at the time of the insurance the house was occupied by a tenant, and that the defendant knew it, and insured the house to be occupied by a tenant and as a tenement. The demurrer admits these averments to be true.' Therefore to overthrow the ruling of the court we must hold that the policy was void from the moment of its execution, and that appellant, having knowingly accepted and retained appellee’s money, surrendered under an honest belief that he was getting three years valid insurance for the sum parted with, nevertheless is entitled to its judgment for cost. This is not in accord with equity and good conscience. It remains to be seen if it is sanctioned by the law.
5. 6. There is nothing mysterious or peculiarly venerable about the ordinary insurance policy, with its long list of provisions and conditions of defeasance. All these, and singular, must be construed like similar provisions in other written instruments, upon sound and well-established principles—principles that support the integrity of the contract, and that forbid an insurer from taking the money of another for a policy which he knows at the time of delivery contains a provision which, under the facts, will enable him to avoid it, if a loss occurs. Such provisions in insurance policies have been before the courts a great many times, and, so far as we have observed, courts have everywhere, in the absence of fraud, refused to enforce a condition of forfeiture in favor of an insurer who has knowledge of the condition broken when he delivered the policy. One reason is this: having accepted a premium to take the risk of indemnifying the insured against loss, it is incompatible for the insurer to attach to the policy a condition that will from the beginning relieve him of that risk.
9. Within these principles and under these authorities appellant’s policy in the hands of appellee, which was untainted by the latter’s fraud, so far as the record discloses, should be read and enforced precisely as if said condition had never been in it.
10. This leads us to another consideration. The condition against the occupancy by a tenant is found as one of a class or group of conditions, separated by the word “or,” and appears in a policy executed upon a printed form which, manifestly from the very phrase we
“This entire policy, unless otherwise provided by agreement indorsed hereon, * * * shall be void, * * * if the buildings insured herein, now are, or shall hereafter become, vacant, or unoccupied, or occupied by tenants.”
It may be noted that the prohibitory clauses against vacancy and occupancy by a tenant stand together, separated only by the word “or,” in a form of policy that we have seen is suitable and appropriate only for a contract of insurance on a house occupied by the owner. A further reason why both conditions were intended to apply to the same sort of policy is that the occupying owner is in absolute control of the vacancy. If he wants to vacate, it is a matter of convenience that he may arrange with delibertion and in accordance with his best interest, and so may
11. But conceding that the condition against vacancy should he considered as embraced in the insurance contract, appellant’s case would not he improved. We have seen that the agreement between the parties was for the insurance of a house to he occupied by tenants. The term of insurance was three years. The better reason and clear weight of authority hold to the doctrine that a condition against vacancy and unoccupancy, usually found in insurance policies, must he construed with relation to the character or class of property to which it relates; that it should not have the same interpretation when applied to churches and schoolhouses as when applied to stores and dwellings; nor the same when applied to houses to he occupied by the owner and to houses to he occupied by tenants.
12. Parties, when negotiating insurance on schoolhouses, know, at the time, because common knowledge, that the houses will be vacant, in a general sense, a large part of the year, and the contract is made with that implied understanding; and it is just as well known, when negotiating or writing a three years’ term of insurance on a house to he occupied by tenants, that during the term the probabilities are that there will be some change
There was no error in overruling the demurrer to the second paragraph of the reply.
Appellant also complains of the overruling of its motion for a new trial. It is urged that the court erred in giving to the jury instruction eight, requested by the appellee. This-instruction was framed upon the theory of the second para
13. There was also evidence tending to prove a denial of liability within sixty days from the loss, and the cause can not be reversed for insufficiency of evidence on this point.
We find no error. Judgment affirmed.
Montgomery, J., did not participate in the decision of this ease.