Opinion · Supreme Court of Georgia
Ancient Order United Workmen v. Brown
Ancient Ord. United Workmen v. Brown, 112 Ga. 545 (Ga. 1901)
- Type
- Opinion
- Court
- Supreme Court of Georgia
- Jurisdiction
- Georgia
- Date
- 1901-01-24
- Topic
- general
Fish, J. In November, 1879, Lodge No. 7 of Columbus, Ga., of the Ancient Order United Workmen, which was not a corporation, but a mutual beneficiary association, issued a certificate of membership insurance on the life of L. I. Harvey, in which Miss Adella T. WTnte was named as the' beneficiary.
Citator
UpLaw has not yet analyzed Ancient Order United Workmen v. Brown. The absence of a flag is not a finding that it is good law.
- Cited by
- 30 opinions
In November, 1879, Lodge No. 7 of Columbus, Ga., of the Ancient Order United Workmen, which was not a corporation, but a mutual beneficiary association, issued a certificate of membership insurance on the life of L. I. Harvey, in which Miss Adella T. WTnte was named as the' beneficiary. The application, signed by Harvey, upon which this certificate issued, recited that “ I . . do hereby agree that compliance on my part with all the laws, regulations, and requirements which are or may be enacted by said Order is the express condition upon which I am to be entitled to participate in the Beneficiary Eund and have and enjoy all the other benefits and privileges of this Order.” The certificate itself contained a similar stipulation. When the certificate was issued there was nothing in the laws of the order restricting the right of a member to designate in the certificate whomsoever he pleased as the beneficiary. In October, 1883, Harvey surrendered this certificate to the order, which cancelled the same, and had a new certificate issued in which, at his direction, Mrs. Georgia O. Brown, who was neither related to nor in any way dependent upon him, .was designated' as the beneficiary, her relation to Harvey being stated as that of “Mend.” This change of the beneficiary was made by Harvey in consideration of an agreement between him and Mrs. Brown that she would take the certificate in satisfaction of four months board, she agreeing to pay all future assessments made by
“ 9. Beneficiaries. Each member shall designate the person or persons to whom the Beneficiary Fund due at his death shall be paid, who shall, in every instance, be one or more members of his family; or some one related to him by blood or who shall be dependent upon him.”
“10. Order of Payment to Beneficiaries. If one or more of the beneficiaries shall die during the lifetime of the member, the surviving beneficiary or beneficiaries shall be entitled to the benefit equally, unless otherwise' provided in the beneficiary certificate, and if all the beneficiaries shall die during the lifetime of the member, and h.e shall have made no other direction, the benefit shall be paid to Ms widow, if living at the time of Ms death; if he leave no widow surviving him, then said benefit shall be paid, share and share alike, to Ms children, Ms grandchildren, living at the time of Ms. death, to take the share to which their deceased parents would be entitled if living; if there be no children or grandchildren of the deceased member livmg at the time of Ms death, then said benefit shall be paid to his mother if living, and if she be dead at the time of Ms death, then to Ms father if living, and should there be no one living at the death of the member entitled to said benefit under the provisions hereof, then the same shall revert to the beneficiary fund of the Grand Lodge.”
Subsequently to the adoption of these by-laws, the grand recorder of the order gave Harvey written notice of the enactment of by-law No. 9, the notice further reciting: “The records in tMs office show that there is quite a number of members in the Jurisdiction holding Beneficiary Certificates in wMch the direction of payment of the beneficiary fund is not in conformity with the laws above stated. By a- resolution adopted at the last session of the Grand Lodge each member holding such beneficiary certificate is required to surrender the same to the Grand Lodge in exchange for one wMch will conform to the laws of the order, and for wMch no charge will be made.” Harvey never complied with tMs request to change the beneficiary named in Ms certificate. After the death of Harvey, Adella T. Leonard (formerly Adella T. White), the beneficiary named
1. One of the contentions of the order is, that as Mrs. Brown had no insurable interest in the life of Harvey, the certificate of membership insurance in which she was named as beneficiary is a wagering policy, and therefore void. In our opinion, this contention is not sound. The point is covered by the ruling made in Union Fraternal League v. Walton, 109 Ga. 1, where it was held: “As one has an insurable interest in his own life, he may lawfully procure insurance thereon for the benefit of any other person whose interest he desires to promote.” In the very able opinion of Mr. Justice little, who spoke for the majority of the court, it is said: “ One question only arises for determination under the record in this case; that is, whether a beneficiary, named by a member of a fraternal or benevolent association which provides for life-insurance, is entitled, after the death of such member, to recover the amount of the benefit without showing any insurable interest in the life of the deceased. The contention of the plaintiff in error is that the
2. Another question presented is, whether by-law number 9, adopted in 1890, seven years after the certificate was issued naming Mrs. Brown as the beneficiary, was retroactive, so as to require Harvey to change the beneficiary, by substituting for Mrs. Brown a member of his family, or some one related to him by blood, or who was dependent upon him. It is a well-recognized rule, in the construction of statutes, that a legislative enactment will be given a prospective operation only, in the absence of a clear intent that it shall act retrospectively. Endlich, Interp. Sts. §273;Dwarris on Sts. 681. It is not enough that general terms are employed broad enough to cover past transactions, for laws are to be construed as prospective only, if possible. Sedg. Cons. St. & Con. Law, 161, note a. “Retroactive by-laws are regarded as impolitic and unwise, and. they may often be said to be unjust and oppressive. Although they may in a given case be valid, they will always be subjected to such a construction as will circumscribe their operation within the narrowest possible limits, consistent with the manifest intention of the society as. indicated by the language used. When it can be avoided they will not be permitted to destroy the
The fact that Harvey agreed to comply with all the laws,, regulations, and requirements which might be enacted by the order ■ subsequently to the issuance of his certificate does not alter the rule that they should be given a prospective operation, in the absence of a clear intent that they shall act retrospectively. Northwestern Ass’n v. Wanner, 24 Ill. App. 359; Supreme Commandery v. Ainsworth, 71 Ala. 436; Hobbs v. Association, 82 Iowa, 107; Morri
By-law number 9, requiring that beneficiaries should be related by blood to the assured or dependent upon Mm, did not, either in terms or by necessary implication, abrogate or annul designations of beneficiaries already made M conformity with rules existing at the time their certificates were issued. There is hothmg M such by-law reqMring any member to make a change of Ms beneficiary, or, M case of his failure to do so, that his benefit certificate should revert to the society. If the mtention of the order was to make such by-law retroactive, language to clearly express such Mtention could have been easily employed. The notice given by the grand recorder to Harvey, that the grand lodge had passed a resolution requirMg members holdMg benefit certificates wMch did not conform to rule 9 to surrender them and obtain certificates conforming to such rule, is not sufficient to prove that such a resolution was, M fact, passed by the grand lodge. It is unnecessary to consider what the effect of such a resolution would have been, because there is nothMg in the evidence M tMs caseto show that it was passed by the grand lodge. The written notice to Harvey that it had been passed could not, when produced by the order in court upon the trial of this case, prove that such a resolution was adopted. The passage of a resolution is one thing, and the service of notice of its passage is another and a different thMg. Whether, M view of Harvey’s agreement, the order could have legally enacted a by-law, subsequently to the issuance of Ms certificate, reqmrMg Mm to change the beneficiary thereM, is a question unnecessary, under the facts of tMs ease, to be decided. All that we rule upon the subject is that the by-law adopted subsequently to the issuance of his certificate did not reqMre a change of the beneficiary, because it does not appear, from the terms of such by-law, that it was Mtended to have such effect.
3. We thMk the judgment against the order for attorneys’ fees was erroneous. They were claimed under section 2140 of the Civil Code. To render an Msurance company liable for attorneys’ fees under the provisions of that section, a demand for the amount due on the policy and a refusal to pay, sixty days before suit was brought,
Judgment affirmed, with, direction.
All the Justices concurring, except