Opinion · Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit

Katherine Martinez v. GEICO Casualty Company

Katherine Martinez v. GEICO Cas. Co., No. 24-10641, UP11142780 (11th Cir. Sept. 23, 2025)

Type
Opinion
Court
Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit
Jurisdiction
Federal
Date
2025-09-23
Topic
litigation

USCA11 Case: 24-10641 Document: 53-1 Date Filed: 09/23/2025 Page: 1 of 29 FOR PUBLICATION In the United States Court of Appeals For the Eleventh Circuit ____________________ No. 24-10641 ____________________ KATHERINE MARTINEZ, Plaintiff-Appellant, versus GEICO CASUALTY INSURANCE COMPANY, Defendant-Appellee. ____________________ Appeal from the United States District Court for the Southern District of Florida D.C. Docket No. 1:23-cv-20219-KMW ____________________ Before LUCK, LAGOA, and ABUDU, Circuit Judges. LAGOA, CIRCUIT JUDGE: Katherine Martinez appeals the entry of summary judg- ment for GEICO Casualty Insurance Co. (“GEICO”) on her claim for bad faith under Florida law. Martinez, along with several oth- ers, was severely injured in a three-vehicle car collision while riding USCA11 Case: 24-10641 Document: 53-1 Date Filed: 09/23/2025 Page: 2 of 29 2 Opinion of the Court 24-10641 as a passenger in her friend’s SUV.

Citator

UpLaw has not yet analyzed Katherine Martinez v. GEICO Casualty Company. The absence of a flag is not a finding that it is good law.

USCA11 Case: 24-10641      Document: 53-1       Date Filed: 09/23/2025      Page: 1 of 29




                               FOR PUBLICATION


                                       In the
                 United States Court of Appeals
                           For the Eleventh Circuit
                             ____________________
                                     No. 24-10641
                             ____________________

        KATHERINE MARTINEZ,
                                                             Plaintiff-Appellant,
        versus

        GEICO CASUALTY INSURANCE COMPANY,
                                                             Defendant-Appellee.
                             ____________________
                      Appeal from the United States District Court
                          for the Southern District of Florida
                         D.C. Docket No. 1:23-cv-20219-KMW
                             ____________________

        Before LUCK, LAGOA, and ABUDU, Circuit Judges.
        LAGOA, CIRCUIT JUDGE:
               Katherine Martinez appeals the entry of summary judg-
        ment for GEICO Casualty Insurance Co. (“GEICO”) on her claim
        for bad faith under Florida law. Martinez, along with several oth-
        ers, was severely injured in a three-vehicle car collision while riding
USCA11 Case: 24-10641      Document: 53-1      Date Filed: 09/23/2025     Page: 2 of 29




        2                      Opinion of the Court                 24-10641

        as a passenger in her friend’s SUV. Diana Guevara, the driver of
        the truck that struck the SUV, was insured by GEICO. Guevara’s
        insurance policy provided bodily-injury coverage up to $10,000 per
        person, but no more than $20,000 total per accident. Upon receiv-
        ing notice of the claim, GEICO flagged a potential coverage issue,
        as Guevara’s truck was not listed as a covered vehicle on her insur-
        ance policy. GEICO investigated the coverage issue over the next
        several weeks and, upon identifying the victims of the crash, re-
        quested medical information from them to guide its assessment of
        their injuries.
               Thirty-two days after receiving notice of the claim—and be-
        fore GEICO had resolved the coverage issue—GEICO informed
        the crash victims that it had tendered the full $20,000 coverage limit
        to resolve all claims at a global settlement conference. GEICO pro-
        posed that sum be split evenly between Martinez and another pas-
        senger. Martinez rejected GEICO’s tender offer and instead elected
        to sue Guevara in state court for the full amount of her damages.
        After nearly nine years of litigation in state court, Guevara and
        Martinez reached a stipulated final judgment for $2,000,000. Gue-
        vara then assigned her outstanding claims against GEICO to Mar-
        tinez, who, in turn, sued GEICO in federal court to recover the ex-
        cess judgment, alleging one count of bad faith.
               The district court entered summary judgment for GEICO
        on that claim, adopting the magistrate judge’s finding that “GEICO
        did not, as a matter of law, act in bad faith.” Martinez appeals that
        ruling, arguing that the “totality” of the evidence, when viewed in
USCA11 Case: 24-10641         Document: 53-1       Date Filed: 09/23/2025        Page: 3 of 29




        24-10641                      Opinion of the Court                          3

        the light most favorable to her, would allow a reasonable jury to
        infer that GEICO acted in bad faith by delaying its investigation of
        Guevara’s claim and its tender of the policy limit to her. After care-
        ful review and with the benefit of oral argument, we affirm the
        district court’s order granting summary judgment.
            I.       FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND
               On February 12, 2009, Roxanne Morina was driving her
        mother’s Ford Expedition (the “SUV”) southbound on Krome Ave-
        nue in Miami-Dade County, Florida. Morina had five passengers in
        the SUV: Katherine Martinez, Stacy Puerto, Yanitza Morales,
        Lisandra Morales, and Stephanie Mejia (collectively, the “SUV Vic-
        tims”). As Morina was making a U-turn, her SUV was rear-ended
        by a pickup driven by Rene Gonzalez Carranza. The impact caused
        the SUV to spin into the northbound lane of Krome Avenue. The
        SUV was then struck by a northbound truck driven by Diana Gue-
        vara. Several of the SUV Victims suffered injuries; Mejia and Mar-
        tinez’s injuries were severe enough that they needed to be airlifted
        to the hospital.
               On February 18, Guevara notified GEICO of the accident.
        Guevara’s insurance policy with GEICO provided bodily-injury
        coverage up to $10,000 per person, but no more than $20,000 per
        accident. 1 Upon receiving notice, GEICO assigned the liability
        claim to its adjuster, Natalie Orive. Greg Santini, a claims manager


        1 We refer to these as the “individual-coverage limit” and the “aggregate-cov-

        erage limit,” respectively.
USCA11 Case: 24-10641      Document: 53-1     Date Filed: 09/23/2025     Page: 4 of 29




        4                      Opinion of the Court                24-10641

        for GEICO, immediately identified a potential coverage issue, as
        the truck that Guevara was driving at the time of the accident was
        not listed on her insurance policy. Santini instructed Orive to ob-
        tain a copy of the police report confirming the details of the loss,
        to notify Guevara of the coverage issue and possibility of excess
        damages, and to contact Guevara’s attorney to discuss the claim.
                Orive called Guevara’s attorney’s office and spoke with his
        assistant later that day. The assistant informed Orive that at least
        two of the SUV Victims were airlifted to the hospital and that he
        believed Guevara was not at fault for the accident. Orive told the
        assistant about the potential coverage issue and the possibility that
        the claims could exceed the coverage limits. Orive also spoke to
        Carranza’s attorney, who advised Orive that Guevara collided with
        Morina and Carranza, and that Carranza may have sustained sev-
        eral injuries in the crash.
               On February 19, Orive received a letter from Carranza’s at-
        torney with an exchange-of-information form attached. The form
        identified Carranza, Morina, and Guevara as the parties involved in
        the accident, and noted that Morina had been cited for careless driv-
        ing. Orive then contacted Morina and Carranza’s insurance carri-
        ers, Bristol West and State Farm, respectively. Orive learned no
        new information from State Farm. However, Bristol West’s repre-
        sentative told Orive that it had learned from Javier Cruz, Guevara’s
        partner, that Guevara purchased the truck on the day of the acci-
        dent, that Morina’s SUV did not have its lights on at the time of the
        crash, and that Morina had supposedly admitted fault for the
USCA11 Case: 24-10641      Document: 53-1     Date Filed: 09/23/2025     Page: 5 of 29




        24-10641               Opinion of the Court                        5

        accident. Orive tried to call Morina to confirm these details, but
        she did not answer, and her voicemail inbox was full. Orive then
        opened “bodily injury features” for the SUV Victims in the elec-
        tronic claims system. GEICO also sent Guevara two letters on Feb-
        ruary 19: a “reservation of rights” letter noting that the truck she
        was driving may not be covered by her insurance policy, and a “bod-
        ily injury excess” letter, which explained the policy’s coverage lim-
        its, the possibility that the claims could exceed those limits, her
        right to contribute personal funds to any claims made against her,
        and her right to retain an attorney to protect her interest in excess
        of the policy limits.
               On February 20, Santini (the claims manager) instructed
        Orive to retrieve the bill of sale for Guevara’s truck to resolve the
        coverage issue. The following day, a Saturday, Orive tasked a
        GEICO field representative with obtaining the police report from
        the crash, so GEICO could learn the identities of the SUV Victims
        and the details of the incident. The field representative acknowl-
        edged the assignment on February 23, the next business day.
               GEICO received the police report, which was dated Febru-
        ary 12, 2009 (the day of the crash), on March 5. From reviewing
        the police report, GEICO was able to identify each of the victims
        and learn that Martinez, Mejia, Yanitza Morales, Puerto, and Gue-
        vara suffered “incapacitating” injuries. The police report also con-
        firmed that Morina was cited for careless driving.
              By March 6, GEICO still had not received the bill of sale
        from the seller of Guevara’s truck. Accordingly, GEICO conducted
USCA11 Case: 24-10641      Document: 53-1      Date Filed: 09/23/2025      Page: 6 of 29




        6                      Opinion of the Court                  24-10641

        a database search for information on the truck in furtherance of
        resolving the coverage issue. The search indicated that the truck
        was registered to a private owner in Hialeah, Florida. Eight days
        later, on March 14, Orive reached out to Guevara’s attorney re-
        questing proof of purchase for the truck.
               Although the coverage issued had not been resolved, GEICO
        referred the case to outside counsel on March 14 to arrange a global
        settlement conference. That same day, GEICO sent each of the
        SUV Victims a letter explaining that the most GEICO could pay for
        an individual claim was $10,000 and no more than $20,000 for all
        claims presented, and that GEICO was attempting to resolve all
        claims within the available policy limits. The letter also asked the
        SUV Victims to attend a global settlement conference and to sub-
        mit medical documentation to guide GEICO’s assessment of the
        injuries.
                To further investigate the extent of those injuries, GEICO
        sent a field representative to conduct personal interviews with the
        SUV Victims or their families on March 18. From these visits,
        GEICO learned that Martinez was still in the hospital and would
        need eight surgeries after sustaining severe injuries to her right leg,
        right knee, and pelvis; that Mejia was hospitalized for seven days
        following the accident and received treatment for a lacerated
        spleen, a forehead laceration that required 27 stitches, a fractured
        pelvis, and internal bleeding; that Lisandra Morales suffered exten-
        sive bruising on her right shoulder but did not sustain any fractures;
        and that Yanitza Morales was hospitalized following the accident,
USCA11 Case: 24-10641      Document: 53-1     Date Filed: 09/23/2025     Page: 7 of 29




        24-10641               Opinion of the Court                        7

        and suffered a fractured right clavicle and a forehead laceration that
        required seven stitches.
               On March 19, GEICO’s general counsel instructed that
        $20,000—the aggregate-coverage limit—be set aside for a global
        settlement conference. GEICO also learned that day that State
        Farm (Carranza’s insurer) had decided to tender Martinez the
        $10,000 individual-coverage limit under Carranza’s insurance pol-
        icy and reserve the remaining $10,000 for a global settlement. And
        on March 22—thirty-two days after receiving notice of the claim—
        GEICO informed the SUV Victims that it had tendered the full
        $20,000 to resolve all claims at the global settlement conference.
        GEICO also advised the SUV Victims that it had to obtain new
        counsel “[d]ue to a conflict of representation,” and that GEICO’s
        counsel would be in touch to schedule the settlement conference.
               In the meantime, GEICO continued to investigate the extent
        of the SUV Victims’ injuries. On March 25, an adjuster spoke with
        Yanitza and Lisandra Morales’s mother, who informed GEICO that
        she wanted to make sure her daughters’ medical bills were paid and
        that she believed Martinez had suffered the most severe injuries.
        The adjuster also spoke with Puerto’s mother, who said that Puerto
        was being treated for injuries to her knee. GEICO finally received
        a letter from the seller of Guevara’s truck on April 1, which con-
        firmed that Guevara purchased the truck on the day of the acci-
        dent, meaning it was covered under her insurance policy.
              The global settlement conference was originally scheduled
        for April 23 but had to be reset due to a scheduling conflict with
USCA11 Case: 24-10641     Document: 53-1      Date Filed: 09/23/2025    Page: 8 of 29




        8                     Opinion of the Court                24-10641

        Mejia’s counsel. On April 16, GEICO received a letter from Mi-
        chael Olin, Martinez’s new attorney, who requested that GEICO
        provide him with mandatory disclosures pursuant to 
Fla. Stat. § 627.4137
 “within thirty . . . days.” GEICO sent him those disclo-
        sures within the same day.
               The parties held the global settlement conference on April
        30. At the conference, GEICO determined that the $20,000 aggre-
        gate-coverage limit would be split evenly between Mejia and Mar-
        tinez, with each receiving the individual-coverage limit. GEICO
        delivered the tender offers to Mejia and Martinez’s respective attor-
        neys with an accompanying release later that day. While Mejia ac-
        cepted the tender, Martinez’s attorney informed GEICO that he
        “need[ed] to review the file and events since the crash” before de-
        termining whether Martinez would accept the offer. GEICO sent
        Martinez’s counsel the requested information two weeks later.
               After nearly five months of consideration, Martinez rejected
        the tender offer on September 23, 2009. In her view, GEICO knew
        prior to April 30 that Martinez’s injuries were far more significant
        than the policy limits covered, and that Guevara was liable for the
        accident, indicating that GEICO delayed settlement negotiations in
        bad faith. Olin would later state that he was interested in pursuing
        a bad-faith claim on behalf of Martinez from “the very beginning”
        and that he attended the global settlement conference “to deter-
        mine whether GEICO had acted in bad faith[.]”
              Martinez then sued Guevara, Morina, and Morina’s mother
        (who owned the SUV) for negligence in Florida state court. The
USCA11 Case: 24-10641     Document: 53-1      Date Filed: 09/23/2025    Page: 9 of 29




        24-10641              Opinion of the Court                        9

        state-court action remained pending for the next eight years. Over
        that period, Martinez made several demands to settle the case, re-
        questing that GEICO either pay her in excess of the policy limits or
        allow Guevara to stipulate to an excess final judgment. Although
        GEICO initially rejected Martinez’s settlement proposals, GEICO
        finally granted Guevara permission to enter into a stipulated final
        judgment of $2,000,000 on April 2, 2018. The court confirmed the
        stipulated final judgment award on October 5, 2018. Guevara then
        assigned to Martinez her right to pursue any claims against GEICO
        to recover the excess judgment.
                On January 19, 2023, Martinez sued GEICO in the U.S. Dis-
        trict Court for the Southern District of Florida, alleging one count
        of bad faith under Florida law. According to Martinez, the delays
        in investigating and settling the claim amounted to a breach of
        GEICO’s duty of good faith to its insured and caused the $2,000,000
        excess judgment to be entered against Guevara. After the close of
        discovery, GEICO moved for summary judgment, arguing that
        “no reasonable jury could conclude that GEICO acted in bad faith
        in its handling of Martinez’s bodily injury claim against Guevara.”
        The district court referred that motion to the magistrate judge for
        a report and recommendation.
              The magistrate judge recommended that summary judg-
        ment be entered in favor of GEICO, finding that Martinez failed to
        submit sufficient evidence from which a reasonable jury could infer
        GEICO’s bad faith. Martinez objected to that recommendation.
        Upon de novo review, the district court adopted the report and
USCA11 Case: 24-10641        Document: 53-1         Date Filed: 09/23/2025         Page: 10 of 29




        10                         Opinion of the Court                       24-10641

        recommendation in full and entered final judgment for GEICO.2
        Martinez timely appealed that judgment.
                While this appeal was pending, we sua sponte raised the issue
        that Martinez did not adequately plead the citizenship of the parties
        to establish federal diversity jurisdiction. This prompted Martinez
        to file a motion for leave to amend her complaint on appeal. We
        denied that motion and remanded to the district court for the lim-
        ited purposes of determining the citizenship of the parties and
        whether diversity jurisdiction existed. On remand, the district
        court allowed Martinez to amend her complaint by interlineation
        and found that the amended complaint pleaded sufficient facts to
        establish diversity jurisdiction. The district court then returned the
        case to this Court for review on the merits.
                           II.     STANDARD OF REVIEW
               We review de novo the district court’s grant of summary
        judgment, viewing the evidence and drawing all reasonable infer-
        ences in favor of the nonmoving party. Strickland v. Norfolk S. Ry.
        Co., 
692 F.3d 1151, 1154
 (11th Cir. 2012). Summary judgment is
        appropriate when a movant shows that there is “no genuine dispute
        as to any material fact and the movant is entitled to judgment as a
        matter of law.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(a). “A genuine issue of material


        2 As the district court adopted the report and recommendation in full, we at-

        tribute the reasoning in the magistrate judge’s report to the district court, see
        15A Chas. A Wright & A.R. Miller, Federal Practice and Procedure § 3901.1 (3d
        ed. 2025), and refer to the “district court” when addressing Martinez’s chal-
        lenges to the report.
USCA11 Case: 24-10641         Document: 53-1          Date Filed: 09/23/2025           Page: 11 of 29




        24-10641                    Opinion of the Court                                  11

        fact exists when the evidence is such that a reasonable jury could
        return a verdict for the non-moving party.” Qui v. Thomas Cnty.
        Sch. Dist., 
814 F.3d 1227, 1235
 (11th Cir. 2016) (quoting Anderson v.
        Liberty Lobby, Inc., 
477 U.S. 242, 247
 (1986)).
                                       III.    ANALYSIS
               The only issue raised in this appeal is whether the district
        court erred in granting summary judgment to GEICO on Mar-
        tinez’s claim for bad faith.
                Florida law “imposes a fiduciary obligation on an insurer to
        protect its insured from a judgment that exceeds the limits of the
        insured’s policy.” Harvey v. GEICO Gen. Ins. Co., 
259 So. 3d 1, 6
 (Fla.
        2018). 3 “[B]ecause the insured ‘has surrendered to the insurer all
        control over the handling of the claim, including all decisions with
        regard to litigation and settlement, . . . the insurer must assume a
        duty to exercise such control and make such decisions in good faith
        and with due regard for the interests of the insured.’” 
Id.
 (quoting
        Boston Old Colony Ins. Co. v. Gutierrez, 
386 So. 2d 783, 785
 (Fla.
        1980)). Under this duty of good faith, insurers generally:
                have obligations to advise the insured of settlement
                opportunities, to advise as to the probable outcome


        3 Although the duty of good faith “is one that the insurer owes to the insured[,]

        . . . Florida law authorizes a cause of action by which the victim . . . can sue
        the insurer directly for its bad-faith failure to settle on the insured’s behalf.”
        Eres v. Progressive Am. Ins. Co., 
998 F.3d 1273, 1278
 (11th Cir. 2021) (first citing
        Boston Old Colony Ins. Co. v. Gutierrez, 
386 So. 2d 783, 785
 (Fla. 1980); then citing
        Thompson v. Com. Union Ins. Co. of N.Y., 
250 So. 2d 259, 264
 (Fla. 1971)).
USCA11 Case: 24-10641      Document: 53-1      Date Filed: 09/23/2025      Page: 12 of 29




        12                      Opinion of the Court                  24-10641

               of the litigation, to warn of the possibility of an ex-
               cess judgment, and to advise the insured of any steps
               he might take to avoid the same, as well as to investi-
               gate the facts, give fair consideration to a settlement
               offer that is not unreasonable under the facts, and set-
               tle, if possible, where a reasonably prudent person,
               faced with the prospect of paying the total recovery,
               would do so.
        Ilias v. USAA Gen. Indem. Co., 
61 F.4th 1338, 1344
 (11th Cir. 2023)
        (quotation omitted). These obligations, however, “are not a mere
        checklist,” and “[a]n insurer is not absolved of liability simply be-
        cause it advises its insured of settlement opportunities, the proba-
        ble outcome of the litigation, and the possibility of an excess judg-
        ment.” Harvey, 
259 So. 3d at 7
. Rather, the “critical inquiry” in as-
        sessing bad faith is whether, under the “totality of the circum-
        stances,” the insurer “diligently, and with the same haste and preci-
        sion as if it were in the insured’s shoes, worked on the insured’s
        behalf to avoid an excess judgment.” 
Id.
 (quotation omitted).
               To prevail on a bad-faith claim, a plaintiff must prove “(1)
        bad faith conduct by the insurer, which (2) causes an excess judg-
        ment to be entered against the insured.” Ilias, 
61 F.4th at 1344
 (cit-
        ing Perera v. U.S. Fid. & Guar. Co., 
35 So. 3d 893, 899
 (Fla.
        2010)). Florida courts generally treat the existence of bad faith as
        “a question of fact for the jury.” Campbell v. Gov’t Emps. Ins. Co., 
306 So. 2d 525, 530
 (Fla. 1974) (collecting cases). Summary judgment
        is appropriate, however, if “there is no sufficient evidence from
        which any reasonable jury could have concluded that there was bad
        faith on the part of the insurer.” Eres v. Progressive Am. Ins. Co., 998
USCA11 Case: 24-10641         Document: 53-1         Date Filed: 09/23/2025         Page: 13 of 29




        24-10641                   Opinion of the Court                                
13 F.3d 1273, 1278
 (11th Cir. 2021) (alteration adopted) (first citing Bos-
        ton Old Colony, 
386 So. 2d at 785
; then citing Mesa v. Clarendon Nat’l
        Ins. Co., 
799 F.3d 1353
, 1359–60 (11th Cir. 2015)).
               On appeal, Martinez advances theories of bad faith based on
        GEICO’s purported delays in investigating the claim and initiating
        settlement negotiations, as well as its refusal to settle the claim
        once the state-court litigation had begun. We first address the suf-
        ficiency of Martinez’s evidence as to each theory. To assuage any
        concern that we have evaluated GEICO’s conduct against a “mere
        checklist,” Harvey, 
259 So. 3d at 7
, 4 we then consider whether that
        evidence would allow a reasonable jury to infer from the totality
        of the circumstances that GEICO acted in bad faith.
               At the heart of an insurer’s duty of good faith is its obliga-
        tion to “diligently, and with the same haste and precision as if it
        were in the insured’s shoes, work[ ] on the insured’s behalf to avoid
        an excess judgment.” Harvey, 
259 So. 3d at 7
. To comply with this
        duty, an insurer “must investigate the facts . . . and settle, if possi-
        ble, where a reasonably prudent person, faced with the prospect of
        paying the total recovery, would do so.” 
Id.
 (citations omitted).


        4 Much of Martinez’s opening brief is devoted to criticizing the district court

        for following a “checklist” approach in its analysis. Such criticism is misplaced.
        The district court correctly articulated that bad faith is “determined under the
        totality of the circumstances standard” and drew its conclusions based on the
        record “as a whole.” That it organized its analysis into logical subheadings
        concerning GEICO’s investigation, communications with the insured, and ef-
        forts to minimize the likelihood of an excess judgment does not mean that it
        considered such conduct in a vacuum.
USCA11 Case: 24-10641      Document: 53-1      Date Filed: 09/23/2025      Page: 14 of 29




        14                      Opinion of the Court                  24-10641

        Because investigatory delays can stall the settlement of the claim—
        thereby increasing the likelihood of an excess judgment against the
        insured—“[b]ad faith may be inferred from a delay in settlement
        negotiations which is willful and without reasonable cause.” Powell
        v. Prudential Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co., 
584 So. 2d 12, 14
 (Fla. 3d DCA
        1991) (citing 46 C.J.S. Insurance § 1408 (1946)). And “[w]here liabil-
        ity is clear, and injuries so serious that a judgment in excess of the
        policy limits is likely, an insurer has an affirmative duty to initiate
        settlement negotiations.” Id. (citations omitted).
                Here, Martinez argues that GEICO’s bad faith can be reason-
        ably inferred from its purported delays in investigating and settling
        the claim, asserting that GEICO “prioritized the coverage investi-
        gation to minimize its own exposure, as opposed to evaluating the
        potential claims against its insured,” and improperly withheld its
        settlement offer despite knowing the severity of Martinez’s inju-
        ries. We assess the materiality of these purported delays in investi-
        gating and settling the claim in turn, recognizing that each “is
        merely one factor to be considered” when determining bad faith
        under the totality of the circumstances. Id.
               A.     The Timing of GEICO’s Investigation
               Martinez argues that GEICO’s bad faith can be inferred
        from its failure to timely investigate the claim, pointing to its delays
        in receiving the police report and in contacting the SUV Victims
        once it had obtained the report. Martinez is correct that GEICO
        did not review the police report for “over two weeks after receiving
        notice of the crash.” But that gap in time alone tells us little about
        the reasonableness of GEICO’s conduct here. See Clauss v. Fortune
USCA11 Case: 24-10641      Document: 53-1       Date Filed: 09/23/2025       Page: 15 of 29




        24-10641                Opinion of the Court                           15

        Ins. Co., 
523 So. 2d 1777
, 1178 (Fla. 5th DCA 1988). It is undisputed
        that on February 18—the same day GEICO received notice of the
        claim—Santini instructed Orive to obtain a copy of the police re-
        port. Orive then tasked a field representative with retrieving the
        report on February 21, and the representative acknowledged the
        assignment the following business day. By promptly querying the
        police report, GEICO proceeded with “the same degree of care and
        diligence” as it would “in the management of his own business.”
        Boston Old Colony, 
386 So. 2d at 785
 (citing Auto Mut. Indem. Co. v.
        Shaw, 
184 So. 852
 (Fla. 1938)); cf. Mesa, 
799 F.3d at 1359
 (declining
        to find bad faith where insurer “immediately opened a claim file”
        upon receiving notice and “[w]ithin four days, . . . hired [a claims
        administrator] to conduct an investigation and adjust any potential
        claims”).
               Moreover, Martinez offers no evidence that could lead a rea-
        sonable jury to believe that GEICO “willfull[y]” impeded the field
        representative’s ability to retrieve the report over those two weeks.
        Powell, 
584 So. 2d at 14
; see also Harvey, 
259 So. 3d at 9
 (finding bad
        faith where adjuster “was a considerable impediment” to the
        prompt settlement of the claim). The bare fact of this gap in time
        may “show some negligence” on GEICO’s part—but that is not
        enough to establish that GEICO delayed its investigation in bad
        faith. Eres, 
998 F.3d at 1281
. Although an insurer’s negligence can
        be “relevant to the question of [bad] faith,” negligence “is not the
        standard.” Harvey, 
259 So. 3d at 9
 (quoting Boston Old Colony, 
386 So. 2d at 785
); see also DeLaune v. Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 
314 So. 2d 601, 603
 (Fla. 4th DCA 1975) (While “evidence of negligence may be
USCA11 Case: 24-10641          Document: 53-1           Date Filed: 09/23/2025           Page: 16 of 29




        16                           Opinion of the Court                          24-10641

        considered by the jury as it may bear on the question of bad faith,
        a cause of action based solely on negligence which does not rise to
        the level of bad faith does not lie.”). We have long recognized that
        a claim based only on evidence of negligence cannot survive the
        federal summary-judgment standard. 5 See Eres, 
998 F.3d at 1281
;
        Mesa, 
799 F.3d at 1360
; see also Hutcherson v. Progressive Corp., 
984 F.2d 1152, 1155
 (11th Cir. 1993) (“Although this is a diversity action
        and [Florida] state law therefore provides the controlling

        5 Harvey does not (and cannot) abrogate this federal procedural rule. When

        Harvey was decided, “Florida place[d] a higher burden [than federal courts] on
        a party moving for summary judgment,” Harvey, 
259 So. 3d at 10
 n.2, requiring
        the movant to “show conclusively that no material issues remain for trial,”
        Visingardi v. Tirone, 
193 So. 2d 601, 604
 (Fla. 1966); see also In re Amends. to Fla.
        Rule of Civ. Proc. 1.510 (In re Amends. II), 
317 So. 3d 72
, 75–76 (Fla. 2021) (later
        amending Florida Rule of Civil Procedure 1.510 to conform with federal sum-
        mary-judgment standard).               Harvey explicitly recognized that “federal
        case[s], . . . ‘to the extent . . . [they] permit summary judgment based on Fed-
        eral Rule of Civil Procedure 56 . . . are of limited precedential value in Florida
        summary judgment cases’” adjudicated in state court precisely because we ap-
        plied a more movant-friendly standard. Harvey, 
259 So. 3d at 10
 n.2 (alteration
        adopted) (quoting Byrd v. BT Foods, Inc., 
948 So. 2d 921
, 923–24 (Fla. 4th DCA
        2007)). Accordingly, while evidence of negligence might be enough to yield a
        triable issue in state court, it is insufficient to create the “inference of bad faith”
        required to survive summary judgment under Rule 56. Eres, 
998 F.3d at 1281
.
                 Moreover, now that the Florida Supreme Court has adopted the fed-
        eral summary judgment standard as the standard for Florida state summary
        judgment proceedings, In re Amends. to Fla. Rule of Civ. Pro. 1.510 (In re Amends.
        I), 
309 So. 3d 192
 (Fla. 2020), and subsequently adopted the text of the federal
        summary judgment rule itself as Florida’s rule, In re Amends. II, 317 So. 3d at
        72, we are doubtful that the distinction drawn by Harvey remains viable.
USCA11 Case: 24-10641      Document: 53-1       Date Filed: 09/23/2025      Page: 17 of 29




        24-10641                Opinion of the Court                          17

        substantive law, federal law governs the sufficiency of the evidence
        necessary to preclude a grant of summary judgment.” (citations
        omitted)). Therefore, GEICO’s delay in obtaining the police report
        cannot alone sustain a finding of bad faith.
                Martinez also faults GEICO for not contacting the SUV Vic-
        tims sooner after receiving the police report, maintaining that
        GEICO initially focused on the coverage investigation “to protect
        its own interests.” But she fails to offer any competent evidence to
        support that inference as well. Given an insurer’s dual mandate to
        act with both ordinary “care and diligence,” Harvey, 
259 So. 3d at 9
        (emphasis added), an insurer is allowed “to make a reasonable eval-
        uation of the case” before making a settlement offer. DeLaune, 
314 So. 2d at 602
; see also Boston Old Colony, 
386 So. 2d at 785
 (noting
        insurer’s duty includes obligation to “investigate the facts”). And
        where, as here, coverage is disputed, the insurer is also allowed rea-
        sonable time “to make a thorough investigation to determine
        whether there is coverage under its policy of insurance.” Caldwell
        v. Allstate Ins. Co., 
453 So. 2d 1187, 1191
 (Fla. 1st DCA 1984).
               GEICO, upon realizing that Guevara’s truck may not have
        been covered by her policy, was required to “resolve the coverage
        dispute promptly or in such a way as to limit any potential preju-
        dice” to her. Pozzi Window Co. v. Auto-Owners Ins., 
446 F.3d 1178, 1188
 (11th Cir. 2006) (quoting State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Laforet,
        
658 So. 2d 55, 63
 (Fla. 1995)). Within the first few weeks of the
        investigation, GEICO took several steps to assess coverage, includ-
        ing instructing its claim adjuster to procure the bill of sale for the
USCA11 Case: 24-10641     Document: 53-1      Date Filed: 09/23/2025    Page: 18 of 29




        18                     Opinion of the Court                24-10641

        truck, speaking to Guevara’s partner about when she purchased the
        truck, and querying the truck’s registration on a vehicle database.
        When those efforts failed to provide a clear answer as to the truck’s
        ownership, GEICO took the additional step of requesting proof of
        purchase from Guevara’s attorney. And—despite having not yet
        received either the bill of sale or the proof of purchase it re-
        quested—GEICO elected to set aside the aggregate-coverage limit
        for settlement negotiations on March 19, which was thirty days af-
        ter receiving notice of the claim and identifying the coverage issue.
               We recognize, of course, that “each bad faith case ‘is deter-
        mined on its own facts.’” Harvey, 
259 So. 3d at 8
 (quoting Berges v.
        Infinity Ins. Co., 
896 So. 2d 665, 680
 (Fla. 2004)). But here, the un-
        disputed facts show that GEICO pursued its investigation with the
        requisite “diligence and thoroughness,” Am. Builders Ins. Co. v. S.-
        Owners Ins. Co., 
71 F.4th 847, 856
 (11th Cir. 2023) (quotation omit-
        ted), by promptly making a settlement offer even when coverage
        remained uncertain, see Pozzi, 
446 F.3d at 1188
 (noting that “efforts
        made by the insurer to settle the liability claim in the face of the
        coverage dispute” undercut a finding of bad faith). We cannot say
        GEICO failed to act “with due regard for the interests of the in-
        sured” by putting Guevara’s interest in reaching a settlement above
        its own incentive to avoid paying out potentially uncovered claims.
        Boston Old Colony, 
386 So. 2d at 785
 (citing Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. v.
        Davis, 
412 F.2d 475
 (5th Cir. 1969)).
              Resisting this conclusion, Martinez argues that a jury could
        nonetheless infer bad faith from GEICO’s investigatory delays
USCA11 Case: 24-10641       Document: 53-1       Date Filed: 09/23/2025       Page: 19 of 29




        24-10641                 Opinion of the Court                           19

        because GEICO violated its internal policy to “contact the claim-
        ant, or a member of his or her family, as soon as possible after the
        assignment unless circumstances make it impossible.” Such con-
        duct, however, is not enough to show bad faith as a matter of law.
        Though “Florida law . . . recognizes that the violation of a party’s
        internal policies can be evidence of its negligence,” 50 State Sec.
        Serv., Inc. v. Giangrandi, 
132 So. 3d 1128, 1134
 (Fla. 3d DCA 2013)
        (citations omitted), negligence, as we have said, “is not the stand-
        ard,” Pelaez v. Gov’t Emps. Ins. Co., 
13 F.4th 1243, 1251
 (11th Cir.
        2021) (quoting Harvey, 
259 So. 3d at 9
), and a bad-faith claim “can-
        not be sustained [solely] upon the theory of negligence,” Am. Fidel-
        ity & Cas. Co. v. Greyhound Corp., 
232 F.2d 89, 93
 (5th Cir. 1956) (Tut-
        tle, J.) (quoting Auto Mut. Indem. Co. v. Shaw, 
184 So. 852, 859
 (Fla.
        1938)). Since Martinez has flagged no additional evidence on the
        extent to which GEICO’s own policies reflect the standard of “care
        and prudence” it owes to its insured, Boston Old Colony, 
386 So. 2d at 785
; cf. L.A. Fitness Int’l, LLC v. Mayer, 
980 So. 2d 550, 558
 (Fla. 4th
        DCA 2008) (noting “the custom and practice of an industry can
        help define a standard of care a party must exercise”), a reasonable
        jury would have no basis to infer bad faith from GEICO’s noncom-
        pliance with its own timing policies, even if we assume that non-
        compliance was negligent. Martinez has therefore not met her
        summary-judgment burden of “show[ing] that a genuine issue re-
        mains for trial” on this issue. United States v. Four Parcels of Real Prop.
        in Greene & Tuscaloosa Cntys., 
941 F.2d 1428
, 1438 (11th Cir. 1991)
        (first citing Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(e); then citing Chanel, Inc. v. Italian Ac-
        tivewear, Inc., 
931 F.2d 1472
, 1477 (11th Cir. 1991)).
USCA11 Case: 24-10641      Document: 53-1      Date Filed: 09/23/2025      Page: 20 of 29




        20                      Opinion of the Court                  24-10641

               B. The Timing of GEICO’s Settlement Offer
               Martinez also contends that GEICO’s bad faith can be in-
        ferred from its purported delay in initiating settlement negotia-
        tions. Specifically, Martinez asserts that GEICO acted in bad faith
        by failing to tender the $20,000 aggregate-coverage limit for a
        global settlement before March 22, 2009, and by not offering her
        the $10,000 individual-coverage limit before the global settlement
        conference. Recall that “[w]here liability is clear, and injuries [are]
        so serious that a judgment in excess of the policy limits is likely, an
        insurer has an affirmative duty to initiate settlement negotiations.”
        Powell, 
584 So. 2d at 14
. That is because, under such circumstances,
        “the financial exposure to the insured acts as a ‘ticking financial
        time bomb’ and ‘[a]ny delay in making an offer . . . even where
        there was no assurance that the claim could be settled could be
        viewed by a fact finder as evidence of bad faith.’” Kinsale Ins. Co. v.
        Pride of St. Lucie Lodge 1189, Inc., 
135 F.4th 961, 969
 (11th Cir. 2025)
        (quoting Goheagan v. Am. Vehicle Ins. Co., 
107 So. 3d 433, 439
 (Fla.
        4th DCA 2012)).
               Here, Martinez has submitted competent evidence demon-
        strating that GEICO knew early on it was likely the damages sus-
        tained from the crash would exceed the policy limits: GEICO
        learned on the same day it received notice of the claim that there
        were six people in Morina’s SUV—two of whom had to be airlifted
        to the hospital—and promptly advised Guevara “of the possibility
        of claims exceeding the applicable coverage limits.” As such,
        GEICO’s affirmative duty to initiate settlement discussions at that
        time turns on whether a reasonable jury could also find that
USCA11 Case: 24-10641      Document: 53-1      Date Filed: 09/23/2025      Page: 21 of 29




        24-10641                Opinion of the Court                         21

        liability was clear “based on what the insurer knew at the time, as
        well as what the insurer reasonably should have known.” Kinsale,
        
135 F.4th at 969
 (citing Delancy v. St. Paul Fire & Marine Ins. Co., 
947 F.2d 1536, 1545
 (11th Cir. 1991)).
               In Kinsale, we explained that when referencing “clear liabil-
        ity” “Florida’s courts have provided guidance about the meaning of
        the word ‘clear’ by using the synonym ‘obvious.’” 
Id.
 (first citing
        Powell, 
584 So. 2d at 14
; then citing Goheagan, 
107 So. 3d at 438
). To
        construe those terms, we referenced numerous dictionary defini-
        tions—ranging from “easily discovered, seen, or understood” to
        “plain and evident to the mind; perfectly clear or manifest; plainly
        distinguishable; clearly visible,” 
id.
 at 969–70 (alteration adopted)
        (first     quoting       Obvious,       Merriam-Webster       Dictionary,
        https://perma.cc/E7L4-A2SY; then quoting Obvious, Oxford English
        Dictionary, https://www.oed.com/dictionary/obvious_adj)—and
        situated those definitions among “fact patterns” from Florida cases
        “where liability could be described as obvious,” such as where the
        insured “was intoxicated,” “was evaluated at ‘80-100%’ liability,” or
        ran a stop sign, id. at 970 (first citing Berges, 
896 So. 2d at 669, 681
;
        then citing Goheagan, 
107 So. 3d at 436, 439
; then citing Powell, 
584 So. 2d at 13
; and then citing Robinson v. State Farm Fire & Cas. Co.,
        
583 So. 2d 1063, 1064, 1069
 (Fla. 5th DCA 1991)). And we clarified
        that we did not “understand the question to be whether the in-
        sured’s liability is 100% guaranteed,” but rather whether a jury
        could “reasonably find” that liability was clear.
USCA11 Case: 24-10641     Document: 53-1      Date Filed: 09/23/2025    Page: 22 of 29




        22                     Opinion of the Court                24-10641

               Kinsale is instructive on this standard’s application as well.
        There, the majority ultimately rejected the insurer’s argument that
        “evidence uncovered during the investigation made liability un-
        clear as a matter of law” because each of the insurer’s bases for
        challenging liability—i.e., the location and timing of the incident,
        a lack of causation, and that the victim had been consuming alco-
        hol—was either “directly contradicted” by record evidence or im-
        material under Florida premises-liability law. 
Id.
 at 974–75. Once
        those factual disputes were resolved in favor of the insured, the
        court determined that a jury could “reasonably find that liability
        was clear” under that view of the evidence. 
Id.
 at 972–75.
                Our case materially differs from Kinsale because Kinsale does
        not present the same coverage issue GEICO faced here. When an
        insurer faces both “an affirmative duty to offer settlement” and a
        coverage issue, it still must be allowed some opportunity “to re-
        solve the coverage dispute promptly” or with the requisite “dili-
        gence and thoroughness.” Am. Builders, 
71 F.4th at 856
 (quoting
        Pozzi, 
446 F.3d at 1188
). Otherwise, the insurer would be placed in
        the “illogical and unfair . . . position of either paying what it be-
        lieves to be an uncovered claim or being in jeopardy of a bad faith
        judgment for failure to pay a claim.” Hiins v. State Farm Fire &
        Cas. Co., 
894 So. 2d 5, 15
 (Fla. 2004) (internal quotation omitted).
        As we already said, GEICO pursued its coverage investigation dili-
        gently and in good faith, making its settlement tender even before
        receiving documentation regarding Guevara’s ownership of the
        truck.
USCA11 Case: 24-10641      Document: 53-1      Date Filed: 09/23/2025     Page: 23 of 29




        24-10641               Opinion of the Court                         23

               Moreover, we cannot say that Guevara’s liability was “free
        from obscurity or ambiguity” even upon accepting Martinez’s ac-
        count of the crash. Kinsale, 
135 F.4th at 970
 (quotation omitted). It
        is undisputed that GEICO fielded conflicting opinions as to liability
        for the multi-car crash including that Morina and not Guevara was
        responsible for the accident. GEICO was thus allowed “to make a
        reasonable evaluation” of liability before making a settlement offer.
        DeLaune, 
314 So. 2d at 603
. Martinez’s argument that GEICO de-
        layed its tender of the aggregate-policy limit in bad faith thus fails.
               Alternatively, Martinez attacks the propriety of the global
        settlement conference itself. In her view, GEICO acted in bad faith
        by waiting until the global settlement conference to tender her the
        $10,000 individual-coverage limit, since GEICO knew long before
        then that Martinez “had suffered greater injuries than everyone else
        in the accident combined.” Given GEICO’s conversations with the
        SUV Victims and their family members, a jury could reasonably in-
        fer that GEICO knew prior to the April 30 settlement conference
        that Martinez’s injuries were among the most severe. But that does
        not mean GEICO was obligated to tender Martinez the individual-
        coverage limit beforehand.
               When faced with multiple claimants, an insurer has no obli-
        gation to immediately pay out the policy limit to the most-injured
        party. See Mesa, 
799 F.3d at 1360
. In fact, the duty of good faith
        prohibits the insurer from “indiscriminately settling selected claims
        and leaving the insured at risk of excess judgments that could have
        been minimized by wiser settlement practice,” and leaves how to
USCA11 Case: 24-10641      Document: 53-1      Date Filed: 09/23/2025     Page: 24 of 29




        24                     Opinion of the Court                  24-10641

        best approach “settlement and defense with regard to the multiple
        claims” to the reasonable discretion of the insurer. Farinas v. Fla.
        Farm Bureau Gen. Ins. Co., 
850 So. 2d 555
, 560–61 (Fla. 4th DCA
        2003)); see also Harmon v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 
232 So. 2d 206
, 207–08 (Fla. 2d DCA 1970) (finding global-settlement confer-
        ence to be a reasonable strategy for settling multiple claims). Thus,
        by withholding its distribution of the policy limits until the global
        settlement conference, GEICO actually furthered its insured’s best
        interests by structuring a settlement plan that would “minimize the
        magnitude of possible excess judgments” against her. Farinas, 
850 So. 2d at 561
.
                Parrying, Martinez contends that the reasonableness of the
        global settlement conference is undercut by our opinion in Ilias, a
        case in which we rejected an insurer’s argument that “its delay in
        tendering the policy was justified because [the plaintiff’s] claim was
        not the only one arising out of the accident.” Ilias, 
61 F.4th at 1346
.
        But we did so only as a factual matter, not a rule of law: the insurer
        in Ilias did not offer any evidence to indicate that anyone besides
        the plaintiff was pursuing compensation for bodily injury. 
Id.
 Here,
        by contrast, the undisputed evidence shows there were “seven po-
        tential claims” arising from the accident, with six victims ultimately
        participating in the global settlement conference. Unlike the in-
        surer in Ilias, GEICO clearly had a reasonable basis to believe it
        needed “to get everyone in a room to see if [it] could settle all the
        claims” in order to avoid an excess judgment. Farinas, 
850 So. 2d at 561
. Accordingly, GEICO’s decision to withhold tendering the pol-
        icy limits until the global settlement conference provides no
USCA11 Case: 24-10641      Document: 53-1       Date Filed: 09/23/2025      Page: 25 of 29




        24-10641                Opinion of the Court                          25

        indication that it acted in bad faith. The undisputed record demon-
        strates that GEICO’s decision to delay tendering Martinez’s indi-
        vidual-coverage limit until the global settlement conference was
        both reasonable and consistent with its duty to the insured. Mar-
        tinez has thus failed to substantiate her claim of bad faith based on
        the timing of GEICO’s settlement offer. We now address GEICO’s
        post-offer conduct.
               C. GEICO’s Post-Offer Conduct
               Martinez also argues that bad faith can be found in GEICO’s
        alleged “failure to consider, communicate, explain, negotiate, per-
        mit, or accept” her post-litigation settlement offers. The duty of
        good faith generally extends to an insurer’s “entire conduct in the
        handling of the claim,” including during the derivative litigation
        against the insured. Berges, 
896 So. 2d at 672
. However, an insurer’s
        obligation to “‘give fair consideration to a settlement offer that is
        not unreasonable under the facts’ . . . [ends] ‘[o]nce it [is] clear that
        [the claimant] [is] unwilling to settle’” within the policy limits and
        agree to a full release. Contreras v. U.S. Sec. Ins. Co., 
927 So. 2d. 16, 21
 (Fla. 4th DCA 2006) (quoting Boston Old Colony, 
386 So. 2d at 785
); see also Kropilak v. 21st Century Ins. Co., 
806 F.3d 1062, 1070
        (11th Cir. 2015) (“[A]n insurer owes . . . no duty to its insured to
        enter into a consent judgment in excess of the limits of its policy.”).
               Martinez concedes that GEICO was not “required to enter
        into any agreement” with her after she rejected the tender offer.
        She nonetheless maintains that GEICO’s failure to consider her of-
        fers or “explain to its insured its reasons for rejecting them”
USCA11 Case: 24-10641      Document: 53-1       Date Filed: 09/23/2025       Page: 26 of 29




        26                      Opinion of the Court                    24-10641

        constitutes “admissible evidence” of bad faith that a jury may con-
        sider as part of the totality of the circumstances. But while such
        evidence may be “relevant to the question of [bad] faith” and ad-
        missible at trial, Boston Old Colony, 
386 So. 2d at 785
; cf. Fed. R. Evid.
        401, without more, it is insufficient as a matter of Florida law to
        establish that GEICO’s “actions rose to the level of bad faith,” see
        Mesa, 
799 F.3d at 1360
. Seeing that Martinez raises no other com-
        petent evidence indicating that GEICO’s post-tender conduct
        amounted to bad faith, we conclude that no reasonable jury could
        make that inference on this record. Because GEICO was not re-
        quired to settle outside the policy limits, and did not otherwise act
        in bad faith once the state litigation began, this circumstance can-
        not sustain Martinez’s claim as a matter of law.
               D. The Totality of the Circumstances
               We now consider whether a reasonable jury could infer that
        GEICO “failed to act in good faith with due regard for the interests
        of the insured” under the “totality of the circumstances.” Harvey,
        
259 So. 3d at 7
 (internal quotations omitted). Viewing the record
        and drawing all reasonable inferences in favor of Martinez, we con-
        clude that Martinez has failed to submit sufficient evidence of bad
        faith as to any of the “circumstances to be weighed by the fact-
        finder.” Kinsale, 
135 F.4th at 969
 n.1 (quoting Powell, 
584 So. 2d at 13
).
                On these facts, GEICO’s conduct in investigating the claim,
        initiating settlement negotiations, and refusing to settle for above
        the policy limit fail to evince bad faith as a matter of law. And while
USCA11 Case: 24-10641      Document: 53-1       Date Filed: 09/23/2025      Page: 27 of 29




        24-10641                Opinion of the Court                          27

        evidence of GEICO’s negligence in obtaining the police report and
        contacting the claimants in violation of its own policies, as well as
        its rejection of Martinez’s counteroffers, are “relevant to the ques-
        tion of [bad] faith,” Boston Old Colony, 
386 So. 2d at 785
, those cir-
        cumstances, even taken together, do not create an “inference of bad
        faith,” Eres, 
998 F.3d at 1281
; see also Harvey, 
259 So. 3d at 9
 (“[N]eg-
        ligence is not the standard.”)—and therefore are necessarily insuf-
        ficient to overcome summary judgment under our federal stand-
        ard. See Anderson, 
477 U.S. at 252
 (“The mere existence of a scintilla
        of evidence in support of the plaintiff’s position will be insufficient;
        there must be evidence on which the jury could reasonably find for
        the plaintiff.”). Even under a totality-of-the-circumstances stand-
        ard, no triable issue remains when “[t]here is no sufficient evidence
        from which any reasonable jury could have concluded that there
        was bad faith on the part of the insurer.” Boston Old Colony, 
386 So. 2d at 785
. So too here.
                In a final effort to save her claim, Martinez falls back on the
        deposition testimony of her “claim-handling expert,” Lewis Jack,
        which she asserts the district court erroneously “refused to even
        consider” in evaluating the totality of the circumstances. Jack, an
        insurance lawyer, testified on several aspects of the claim process,
        including the timing of the tender, the propriety of the global set-
        tlement, and GEICO’s post-offer conduct. For example, Jack testi-
        fied that GEICO “violated its duty of good faith and fair dealing
        regarding Kathy Martinez’s claim against GEICO’s insured, Diana
        Guevara, by improperly delaying its tender of its bodily injury lia-
        bility limits of $10,000 until April 30, 2009.” He also opined that
USCA11 Case: 24-10641      Document: 53-1       Date Filed: 09/23/2025      Page: 28 of 29




        28                      Opinion of the Court                   24-10641

        GEICO’s decision to hold a global settlement conference and post-
        offer conduct was “inconsistent with” its duty of good faith.
                Jack’s statement that “GEICO violated its duty of good
        faith” is nothing more than a conclusory allegation, and thus lacks
        any probative value at summary judgment. Evers v. Gen. Motors
        Corp., 
770 F.2d 984
, 986–87 (11th Cir. 1985); see also Merit Motors, Inc.
        v. Chrysler Corp., 
569 F.2d 666
, 672–73 (D.C. Cir. 1977) (noting Fed-
        eral Rule of Evidence 703 “was not intended . . . to make summary
        judgment impossible whenever a party has produced an expert to
        support its position”). Moreover, whatever Jack’s views on the “le-
        gal implications” of GEICO’s conduct are, they cannot displace this
        Court’s conclusion that neither the manner of settlement nor
        GEICO’s refusal to settle beyond the policy limit evinces bad faith
        as a matter of law. Commodores Ent. Corp. v. McClary, 
879 F.3d 1114, 1128
 (11th Cir. 2018) (quoting Montgomery v. Aetna Cas. & Sur. Co.,
        
898 F.2d 1537, 1541
 (11th Cir. 1990)); cf. Montgomery, 
898 F.2d at 1541
 (“[The expert] testified that in his opinion [the insurer] had a
        duty to hire tax counsel in this case. This was a legal conclusion,
        and therefore should not have been admitted.” (internal citation
        omitted)). As such, we conclude that Martinez has not identified
        any “competent” evidence from Jack’s testimony suggesting bad
        faith.
               Based on the totality of the circumstances, no reasonable
        jury could conclude that GEICO acted in bad faith in handling Gue-
        vara’s insurance claim. Since “no reasonable jury could find bad
        faith” on these facts, Martinez’s bad-faith claim fails as a matter of
USCA11 Case: 24-10641     Document: 53-1      Date Filed: 09/23/2025    Page: 29 of 29




        24-10641               Opinion of the Court                       29

        law. Eres, 988 F.3d at 1277. We thus conclude that the district court
        did not err in concluding GEICO was entitled to summary judg-
        ment.
                              IV.    CONCLUSION
            For the reasons stated, we affirm the district court’s entry of
        summary judgment for the Defendant GEICO.
              AFFIRMED.