Opinion · Wisconsin Supreme Court
Acme Body Works v. Industrial Commission
Acme Body Works v. Indus. Comm’n, 204 Wis. 493 (Wis. 1931)
- Type
- Opinion
- Court
- Wisconsin Supreme Court
- Jurisdiction
- Wisconsin
- Date
- 1931-05-12
- Topic
- litigation
The following opinion was filed February 10, 1931: Owen, J. The Industrial Commission made an award of compensation in favor of Herman Koepsel and against the Acme Body Works and its insurance carrier the Travelers Insurance Company. The injury for which the award was made was industrial blindness of the left eye, which the Industrial Commission found to have resulted from an injury to the eye sustained by Koepsel while in the employ of the Acme Body Works June 23, 1920. It is contended by the appellants that the evidence does not support the finding that the industrial blindness resulted, from the injury which it is admitted was sustained by Koepsel while in the employ of the Acme Body Works in June, 1920. It appears that on June 23, 1920, when Koepsel was in the employ of the Acme Body Works, he was struck in the left eye by a knot while operating a saw.
Citator
UpLaw has not yet analyzed Acme Body Works v. Industrial Commission. The absence of a flag is not a finding that it is good law.
- Cited by
- 39 opinions
The following opinion was filed February 10, 1931:
Owen, J.The Industrial Commission made an award of compensation in favor of Herman Koepsel and against the Acme Body Works and its insurance carrier the Travelers Insurance Company. The injury for which the award was made was industrial blindness of the left eye, which the Industrial Commission found to have resulted from an injury to the eye sustained by Koepsel while in the employ of the Acme Body Works June 23, 1920. It is contended by the appellants that the evidence does not support the finding that the industrial blindness resulted, from the injury which it is admitted was sustained by Koepsel while in the employ of the Acme Body Works in June, 1920.
It appears that on June 23, 1920, when Koepsel was in the employ of the Acme Body Works, he was struck in the left eye by a knot while operating a saw. He returned to work July 28, 1920, receiving compensation for temporary total disability during the intervening period. He was fitted with glasses by Dr. Rector May 18, 1921, who found no cataract at that time, but did discover congenital stigmatism in both eyes. July 12, 1926, while working for the Greunke Grading Company, a particle of stone or steel struck his left eye. July 18, 1926, he went to Dr. Brooks, who removed a foreign substance from the eye and found a cataract causing industrial blindness of the eye. December 22, 1926, Koepsel filed an application for compensation against the Greunke Grading Company, claiming that the injury of July 12, 1926, had resulted in the loss of sight in his left eye. After taking evidence at a couple of hearings, the Industrial Commission made the Acme Body Works and its insurance carrier, the Travelers Insurance Company, parties to that proceeding.
While it is tacitly conceded that the evidence discloses a possibility that the injury was due to the accident of 1920, it is earnestly contended that it does not rise to the dignity of a probability that it was the result of that accident. The evidence is necessarily expert in character. There is no dispute but that the present condition of the eye is due to a cataract. There is agreement on the part of all the experts that a cataract may be congenital, senile, or traumatic. There is no difference among the experts upon the proposition that this cataract is traumatic in character. There is no evidence that the claimant sustained any injury to his eye except the one in 1920 and the one in 1926. It appears from the testimony that the formation of a cataract on June 18, 1926, is an unusual result from either the injury of 1920 or that of July 12, 1926. However, so far as the evidence reveals, it seems clear that we have here, first, a traumatic cataract, and second, that it must have resulted from one injury or the other.' The experts seemingly agree that the condition of claimant’s eye could not have resulted from the 1926 injury. The period intervening between that injury and the discovery of the cataract did not allow a sufficient time for its formation. We find quite complete accord in the evidence of the experts for eliminating the injury of 1926 as the cause of the cataract. While there is greater difference between the experts as to whether the cataract could have resulted from the injury of 1920, we think there is sufficient in the evidence to show that the injury of 1920 was the cause of the cataract, producing claimant’s industrial blindness.
It is further contended that the statute of limitations has run on applicant’s claim. It was held in Federal Rubber Co. v. Industrial Comm. 185 Wis. 299, 201 N. W. 261, that the general six-year statute of limitations applied to claims for compensation. It is pointed out that in common-law actions to recover damages for physical injuries the statute of limitations begins to run from the date of the accident.
It will be noticed that under the amendment of 1929 the statute of limitations begins to run from the “date of the injury” and not from the date of the accident from which the injury resulted. Under the workmen’s compensation act the date of the injury and the date of the accident are not convertible terms. It is generally held under workmen’s compensation acts that injury results when the right to compensation arises. Injury and compensable disability are more in the nature of synonymous terms than are date of injury and date of the accident. Thus, in Esposito v. Marlin-Rockwell Corp. 96 Conn. 414, 114 Atl. 92, it is said: “A compensable injury is an injury for which compensation is payable, and the date of such an injury is not the time of the accident or occurrence causing injury, but the time . . .
It is further contended that Koepsel released the Acme Body Works and its insurance carrier from further compensation when they paid him temporary disability compensation in 1920. He was injured June 23,-1920, and returned to work July 28, 1920. He was paid $70.72 as compensation for temporary total disability during that period. On August 6th he signed a receipt for that amount, which provided that “in consideration of which [said $70.72] I hereby release and forever discharge the said insurance company, and my said employer, their heirs, successors and assigns, from any and all actions, causes of action, claims and demands, for, upon, or by reason of any damage, loss, injury, or suffering which heretofore has been or which hereafter may be sustained by me in consequence of an accident suffered by me on or about the 23d day of June, 1920, and while in the employment of said employer, which caused a disability until the 27th day of July, 1920.” There is nothing in the record to indicate that the amount thus paid to the applicant was any greater than the amount to which he was then entitled as compensation up to the time of payment.
By the Court. — Judgment affirmed.
The following opinion was filed May 12, 1931: