Opinion · Supreme Court of Missouri
Harris v. Security Life Insurance Co. of America
248 Mo. 304
- Type
- Opinion
- Court
- Supreme Court of Missouri
- Jurisdiction
- Missouri
- Date
- 1913-02-28
- Topic
- general
OPINION. I. BOND, J. insurance: Incontestability. (after stating the facts as above).— The modern rule is that a life insurance policy containing a provision that it shall be incontestable after a specified time, cannot be contested by the insurer on any ground not excepted in that provision. [Williams v. Ins.
Citator
UpLaw has not yet analyzed Harris v. Security Life Insurance Co. of America. The absence of a flag is not a finding that it is good law.
- Cited by
- 20 opinions
OPINION.
I.
BOND, J.insurance: Incontestability. (after stating the facts as above).— The modern rule is that a life insurance policy containing a provision that it shall be incontestable after a specified time, cannot be contested by the insurer on any ground not excepted in that provision. [Williams v. Ins. Co., 189 Mo. 70; Massachusetts Benefit Life Ass’n v. Robinson, 104 Gra. 256; Ins. Co. v. Montgomery, 116 Gra. 799; Wright v. Ins. Co., 118 N. Y. 237; Patterson v. Ins. Co., 100 Wis. 118; Mutual Reserve Ass’n v. Austin, 6 L. R. A. (N. S.) 1064; Murray v. Ins. Co., 22 R. I. 524; Clement v. Ins. Co., 101 Tenn. 22; Ins. Co. v. McClure, 138 Ky. 138; 25 Cyc. 875.]
In the case first cited the accordant doctrine of this State is expressed. There the suit was by the husband upon a policy issued on the life of his wife. The defenses were that the insured imposed upon the company by substituting another woman for medical examination and by making false warranties as to her health. The policy contained a clause that after two years, with certain exceptions as to occupations, it
warranties: Fraud The learned counsel for appellant having, as they express it, “gotten the matter out of their system at the outset,” “return to the mutton” and assign for error that under the pleadings and proof in this case the policy was not incontestable on the grounds of false warranty and fraud despite its provisions to the contrary. Their point being that the period of one year fixed by the parties to the contract was not sufficient to enable one party thereto (the insurer) to ascertain by diligence whether his contract was fraudulently obtained. In support of which they cite two Illinois eases which they claim govern the interpretation of the policy in suit. An examination of the answer of appellant discloses that it does not allege any facts of diligent conduct on its part to discover whether its policy was obtained
But the matter does not stop here, for it distinctly appears from the record, that after making inquiries as to the past of the insured, the appellant, on January 17, 1907, through its State manager for Illinois, wrote to its medical examiner in reference to the application of the insured for a second policy a letter which concludes as follows: “I think we have found out all that is necessary about this man, and the only thing to do is to refuse to issue the second $10,000 policy. In regard to the original $10,000 policy is
Again, on July 12, 1907, appellant through its secretary, answered a letter of inquiry written by the brother of the beneficiary in the policy, using the following language: “I have been prevented from replying to you, giving to you for Mrs. Harris, beneficiary, the information desired respecting policy No. 10677, on the life of her husband, Robert H. Harris, who on Dec. 20, 1906, secured a policy for $10,000 in this company in favor of the said beneficiary. There appears to be no good reason why the information should not be furnished to your sister, as the policy is in her favor, and -in reply I have to say, that the first premium on the policy was settled by a promissory note for $225, which note has been paid, and the policy is now in force up to Dec. 20,1907, when another premium of $225 will become due.
11 Imperishable Security.
Henry C. Brown, Secretary.”
This letter contains a distinct affirmance of the existence and enforceability of the policy in suit made more than six months after it was issued and in full light of all of the investigation made on part of the appellant up to that time, and 'which seems not to have been continued thereafter. The letter contains no hint of an intention to annul or cancel the policy, and undoubtedly was a waiver of any grounds for so doing of which appellant had been previously apprised.
Our conclusion is, that under the pleadings and
II.
Appellant insists that it was incumbent on the-insured to make proof of the full payment of all premiums on the policy at the time of the death of the insured. Whether the premiums had been received or not was a matter peculiarly within the knowledge of appellant. It, however, neither pleaded nor proved non-payment; although if that were the fact, the policy would have been relieved of the preclusion of the clause making it incontestable after one year, and it would have been open to any legitimate defenses, such as false warranties or fraudulent representations. The record contains no positive proof of the payment of the second premium. The payment of the first premium is admitted.
Under these circumstances, the production of the policy, together with proof and due notice of the death of the insured, made a prima-facie case for respondent, and cast upon the defendant the burden of showing whether any premium was unpaid at the death of the insured. [25 Cyc. 925, 927; Provident Sav. Life Assur. Society v. Cannon, 201 Ill. 250; Ins. Co. v. March, 118 Ill. App. 261; Crenshaw v. Ins. Co., 71 Mo. App. l. c. 52.]
The trial court in this case submitted by instruction No. 1 the questions upon which a prima-facie right to recover depended — the issuance of the policy, the relationship of the plaintiff to the beneficiary, the death of the insured, and due notice thereof to appellant. That instruction was proper under the pleadings and evidence in this case, and justified the trial court in refusing instructions of a contrary tenor requested by appellant. The judgment in favor of plaintiff is therefore affirmed.
Woodson, P. J., Lamm and Graves, JJ., concur.