Opinion · Supreme Court of Iowa
Ley v. Metropolitan Life Insurance
120 Iowa 203
- Type
- Opinion
- Court
- Supreme Court of Iowa
- Jurisdiction
- Iowa
- Date
- 1903-04-11
- Topic
- litigation
WeavbR, J. The policy in suit was issued May 29, 1900, upon the life of William Ley, who died August 19, 1900. The defendant refuses payment, alleging that the said insured, in applying for such insurance, and in order to obtain a favorable report or certificate from the medical examiner, falsely and fraudulently misrepresented his physical condition and history; that in the year 1896 said Ley was afflicted with a very severe and almost fatal hemorrhage of the stomach (a disease which afterward caused his death), and that, in his examination by and answers to the examiner, he concealed and denied the fact of such *205sickness, and that by such fraud and deception, in which it is alleged the plaintiff participated, said examiner was induced to certify the fitness of said Ley for insurance; and that such certificate would not have been made, nor would the policy have been issued, had such fraud not been practiced. It was shown upon the trial that in applying for insurance the applicant signed written answers to questions propounded by the medical examiner bearing upon his physical condition at and prior to that date. Among such questions and answers were the following: “(1) Have you ever had spitting of blood?
Citator
UpLaw has not yet analyzed Ley v. Metropolitan Life Insurance. The absence of a flag is not a finding that it is good law.
- Cited by
- 42 opinions
The policy in suit was issued May 29, 1900, upon the life of William Ley, who died August 19, 1900. The defendant refuses payment, alleging that the said insured, in applying for such insurance, and in order to obtain a favorable report or certificate from the medical examiner, falsely and fraudulently misrepresented his physical condition and history; that in the year 1896 said Ley was afflicted with a very severe and almost fatal hemorrhage of the stomach (a disease which afterward caused his death), and that, in his examination by and answers to the examiner, he concealed and denied the fact of such
It was shown upon the trial that in applying for insurance the applicant signed written answers to questions propounded by the medical examiner bearing upon his physical condition at and prior to that date. Among such questions and answers were the following: “(1) Have you ever had spitting of blood? Ans. No. (2) Give full particulars of any illness you may have had since childhood, and name of medical attendants. Ans. Malaria, 8 years ago. Hawthorn Thornton, Portland, Oregon.” “(6) Name and residence of your usual medical attendant. Ans. Have none. (7) Have you consulted any other physician? If so, when and for what? Ans. No.” Although defendant took issue upon other answers made to the examiner, those above quoted are all which are material to the consideration of the matters.presented in argument. The application, as distinct from the medical examination, is signed by both husband and wife, and, in addition to the usual assertion of the truth of all representations made and answers given, contains the following clause: “And it is expressly consented and stipulated that in any suit on the policy herein applied for, any physician who has attended, or may hereafter attend the insured, may disclose any information acquired by him in any wise affecting the declarations and warranties herein made. V
Opon the trial the defendant conceded the issuance of the policy and the death of Ley, and assumed the burden of proof upon its allegations of fraud. In support of this issue, Dr. Stutsman was produced, and testified that he made the medical examination of Ley, and, while he had no independent recollection of many of the answers, was
Dr. Little, a practicing physician, testified that he was called to attend Mr. Ley in 1896. The witness was then asked, “What was Mr. Ley suffering from, doctor?” To this plaintiff objected that the matter called for was confidential, and therefore inadmissible, under the statute; and the objection to this and certain other similar questions was sustained. It appears, however, that the witness, in answer to other questions, was permitted to testify, over plaintiff’s objection, that Ley was vomiting black, clotted blood on the occasion referred to, and was quite weak and exhausted. He further testified that he attended Ley in his last sickness, and found him suffering from very profuse hemorrhage of the stomach. Plaintiff, in her own behalf, testified that upon the occasion of Dr. Little’s visit in 1896 she caused him to be called in; that her husband had been taken ill while at his place of business, and walked home; that he vomited some, “but not so very much,” and that there was no return of the vomiting after the doctor arrived; that the doctor was there only about ten minutes, and was in again once or twice only for a very brief call; that she was present on both occasions, and that the doctor said nothing to her husband as to the nature of the disease; that Mr. Ley returned to his work in two or three weeks, and thereafter was apparently in good condition, had good appetite, and seemed to increase in weight.
Much of the appellant’s argument is devoted to exceptions taken to the charge of the court to the jury. The length of the charge, and the number of the criticisms made thereon, are such that it is impracticable to set them out at length without unduly extending this opinion, and we shall therefore state them in substance only.
1. The rules given by the court in respect to evidence on which charges of fraud may be sustained are said by counsel to cast upon the appellant a heavier burden than i. Fraud: in-instruction, the law contemplates; In support "of this contention we are pointed to the following language extracted from the third instruction:
“Fraud will never be presumed, but must be proven by the party charging it; and if the facts upon which it is charged are, or may be, consistent with honesty and purity of intention, then the charge of fraud will fail. To show fraud, the facts must lead naturally and clearly to the facts sought to be established, and must be inconsistent with any other reasonable or probable theory.”
The general proposition as to the presumption of good faith is conceded to be correct, but it is said, first, that the meaning of the first sentence is confusing, and leaves it doubtful whether the expression “facts upon which it is charged” has reference simply to the allegation of fraud in the pleading, or to the proof offered in support of such allegation; and, second, that the word “clearly,” in the
The second sentence quoted from the instruction is neither more nor less than a restatement in another form of the principle embodied in the first, and, as used by the 2. Same, court, we think the proposition is not erroneous. It is possible that the • word “clearly,” in that connection, if considered without reference to the charge as a whole, might be thought objectionable, as requiring proof beyond a doubt; and, if such were the effect here, the appellant’s point would be well made. Such, however, would be an extreme and unfair interpretation of the court’s meaning. The court was not instructing as to quantum of proof necessary to establish the defense pleaded, for that undoubtedly required only a fair preponderance of the evidence; and this, in express words, was so stated in another part of the same paragraph. But the alleged false statement in the application and examination of the insured person is not, strictly speaking, the defense offered, but is rather one of the facts which must be shown in support of the defense. To avoid the policy, it was necessary not only to show the fraud alleged, but feat defendant was thereby deceived, and, in reliance
II. Exception is also taken to paragraph six of the charge, in which the jury were instructed that:
“If it is shown by the fair preponderance of the evidence that, in his answer to any one or more of the interrogatories which are charged by the defendant as having 4 fraud-pr?0Cfhn-y °f strucuon. been untruthfully answered, the applicant,William Ley, answered them, knowing at the time that the answer so given by him was false and untrue, or if he in making such answers, or any one of them, knowingly concealed any fact which he was in good faith at the time required to state, then the plain
Objections are urged to other instructions on different grounds, the, most material of which are governed by the conclusions already stated, or involve propositions of no general interest to the profession. We have examined: each point made with the care which the importance of
III. Error is assigned upon the ruling of the trial court in sustaining the objections made to the testimony of Dr. Little concerning his treatment of Mr. Ley in 1896. 5, evidence: exclusion of. It will probably not be disputed that the ^es^m011y called for was privileged under the provisions of our statute (Code, section 4608); but it is said that by reason of the “waiver” contained in the application, and hereinbefore quoted, this prohibition does not apply. The question which is here sought bo be raised is one of considerable importance, but the record before us does not seem to make necessary decision thereof at this time. While it is true that plaintiff’s objection to the testimony of Dr. Little was at first sustained, the witness did later testify as to the professional visits made by him in the year 1896, and stated quite fully what he claimed to have discovered concerning the physical condition of Mr. Ley at that time, and as to the nature of the illness from which said insured was then suffering. Moreover, it further appears from the record that when plaintiff interrogated this same witness as to what occurred upon his visit to Ley in 1896, and especially as to what he (the physician) told Ley concerning the nature of his ailment, such testimony was excluded upon the appellant’s objection. If there was any error in the first ruling, which we do not decide, it was cured by the testimony afterward admitted; and, in any event, appellant cannot complain of the exclusion of evidence which its own objection has assisted in keeping out of the record.
IY. Appellant further insists that the verdict and special findings returned by the jury have no sufficient 6. evidence: goodfatthcf support in the evidence. Without taking or Space to analyze the testimony,
We find no reversible error in the record, and the judgment of the district court is aeeirmed.