Opinion · Supreme Court of Iowa
Payne v. Fraternal Accident Ass'n of America
Payne v. Fraternal Accident Ass'n of Am., 119 Iowa 342 (Iowa 1903)
- Type
- Opinion
- Court
- Supreme Court of Iowa
- Jurisdiction
- Iowa
- Date
- 1903-01-31
- Topic
- general
Bishop, C. J. i. accident meaning of insurance policy defined. The certificate holder resided in Dallas county, this state. It seems that in February, 1900, he had gone for a visit to Fenton, Louisiana, and while there he was killed by being struck and ru»i over by a freight car moving upon a railroad track. One of the defenses relied upon to defeat a recovery is that the death of Payne was not accidental, as defined by the contract in suit.
Citator
UpLaw has not yet analyzed Payne v. Fraternal Accident Ass'n of America. The absence of a flag is not a finding that it is good law.
- Cited by
- 19 opinions
i. accident meaning of insurance policy defined. The certificate holder resided in Dallas county, this state. It seems that in February, 1900, he had gone for a visit to Fenton, Louisiana, and while there he was killed by being struck and ru»i over by a freight car moving upon a railroad track. One of the defenses relied upon to defeat a recovery is that the death of Payne was not accidental, as defined by the contract in suit. It is the language of the certificate that the injury must occur “through external, violent, and accidental means.” It is conceded that the burden was on the plaintiff to show that the death of
Counsel for appellant do not suggest that the facts disclosed by the record indicate in any degree a case of suicide, or that the jury would have been warranted in finding such to be the fact. Their contention seems to be that, because the deceased placed himself in a position to receive the injury resulting in his death, it was not, therefore, an accident. We are unable to grasp the force of the contention. An accident, in the sense we are here called upon to consider the expression, means a result the inducing cause for which was not put in motion by the voluntary and intentional act of the person injured. It does not matter in this connection that negligence even may be made to appear. If involuntary and uninten tional, the result cannot be characterized otherwise than as an accident. Follis v. Association, 94 Iowa, 439; Matthes v. Association, 110 Iowa, 224; Marx v. Insurance Co., (C. C.) 39 Fed. Rep. 321. The case of Carnes v. Asssociation, 106 Iowa, 281, relied upon by counsel, does not sustain their contention. In that case death was the result of an overdose of morphine, self administered, and the question was whether the death could be regarded as an accident, it appearing not only that the taking' of the drug was voluntary, but that the amount taken was intentional. It is manifest that to such a case must be applied a principle altogether different from that governing the one before us. Here the contact with the car which killed him was an involuntary and unintentional act on the part of Payne. It may be as asserted by counsel that the killing was the
2. voluntary unnecessary danger: jury question. II. It is a provision of the certificate that “this insurance does not cover * * * accident nor death or disability resulting wholly or partly, directly or indirectly from * * * voluntary exposure to unnecessary dangé'r.” By motion to direct a verdict at the close of the evidence for plaintiff, and again in the motion for new trial, the defendant urged that there could be no recovery, in that the undisputed facts make it appear that the injury complained of was wholly and directly the result of a voluntary exposure to unnecessary danger. The fact of accident having been established, the burden of proof was upon the defendant to show that Payne came to his death because of his voluntary exposure to unnecessary danger. Follis. v. Association, 94 Iowa, 439. It may be conceded that the facts are not seriously involved in dispute; still if, from such facts, reasonable minds might reach different conclusions as to the ultimate fact, the question was one for the jury. Whitsett v. Railway Co., 67 Iowa, 159; Winelander v. Jones, 77 Iowa, 401. And in such cases it follows as a matter of course that the party having the burden of proof cannot be heard on appeal to complain of an adverse verdict, it appearing that the question was fairly submitted for the consideration of the jury.
blow, the principle of law under which an exception, such as found in the certificate in the case at bar, must be construed, is clearly stated in the opinion of this court in Follis v. Association, supra. Deemer, J., speaking for the court, says: “It evidently means something more than contributory negligence or the want of ordinary care on the part of the assured. The policy was no doubt intended to cover accidents, although the assured may
3. same- evidenceIn the case before us the trial court submitted the question of fact to the jury under instructions which, as we think, correctly embody the principles of law applicable to such question as above referred to and set forth. Such being true, there remains for our consideration but one proposition, and that is whether the proven facts disclosed by the record are such as that the ultimate fact should have been submitted for a finding of the jury; or, on the other hand, determined by the court as a matter of law. The facts, in brief, are as follows: Fenton is a small town of less than a dozen buildings. The railroad runs through the town north and south, with a side track on ^e west5 and about forty feet distant from-the main track. Two streets cross the tracks at right angles, and are about three hundred feet distant from each other. The depot is between the tracks, and abuts upon the street at the south. Also between the tracks, about forty feet north of the depot, is a large water tank. To the north of the tank is a pump house, and still further north a privy. At -the time in question a large pile of wood was situated along the east line of the side track,
a. accidental crossüírifiery for: want of proper care. III. It is a further provison of the certificate that “this insurance does not cover * * * accident nor death or disability resulting * * * while walking or being on a railway bridge, roadbed, or location, * * * violating laws or rules of a corporation.” As we have seen, the evidence shows without dispute that at the time of his accident Payne was on the roadbed, and between the track rails of a railway. In the motion for a directed verdict, and again in the motion for new trial, the defendant contended that such conduct on the part of Payne was violative of the certificate conditions, and that, consequently, the plaintiff ought not to be permitted to recover. If there was any law or rule of the railway corporation having reference to the crossing of its tracks, the record does not disclose the same. With respect to such it has
In Joyce, Insurance, section 2625, it is said: “The phrase, ‘walking or being on a railway bridge or roadbed,’ under an exception in an accident policy of liability for injuries or death caused thereby, is not to be construed with absolute literalness. The condition is a warranty by the assured that he will not intrude upon that part of the roadbed which is not also a part of the highway or public thoroughfare; that he will not loiter upon the track; but does not obligate him not to cross the railroad bed at the place provided for the public to cross it. And if one crosses a track at a station, where the public is accustomed to cross, he is not ‘walking on a railroad bed’ in any such sense .as will entitle the insurer to avoid the policy, irrespective of proof of such person’s negligence in so crossing.”
The cases bearing upon the question are very fully collected in 1 Am. & Eng. Enc. Law (2d Ed.) 311, and it is there said: “In an action upon a policy of accident insurance, which provided that the insurance company shall not be liable if the insured was injured or killed while upon a railroad bridge, trestle, or roadbed, it is not error for the court to charge that, if the insured was crossing a railroad at a well recognized crossing which had long been publicly used, and that he used proper care under the circumstances, and was killed, the mere fact that he was crossing the track would not prevent a recovery.”- The
It is to be observed, however, that an inherent part of the rule we are now considering requires the exercise of proper care upon the part of the insured. Hence, if it can be said to appear from the record in this case as a matter of law that Payne was not in the exercise of proper care, then it would be the duty of the court to say that no recovery can be had. Now, whether or not proper care was exercised in a given case is a question of fact involving all the circumstances appearing in evidence, and such question, generally speaking, is one for the jury. If the evidence be such as that by reference to it the finding of the jury can be justified, the verdict becomes conclusive. Grouping the facts, and we have the standing car on the side track to the rear of or around which Payne passed on Ms way to the depot; the presence of such standing car as he approached it on his return; the intervening buildings and wood pile that obstructed'the vision to the north, and the strong south wind that interfered with hearing sounds from the north; the fact that the station was a small one,
Turning to the instructions given to the jury, and we find that the subject was fully and fairly presented for consideration. The verdict, of course, negatives the idea of a want of proper care. Now, having in mind that exceptions of the character appearing in the certificate involved in this action, and for obvious reasons, are construed most strongly against the insurer, and that the burden is upon such insurer to furnish the proof to bring the case within the exception, we cannot say that there is no basis in the evidence upon which the verdict of the jury can be justified. What we have already said disposes of the principal contentions in the case. We have examined each of the remaining assignments of error, and find nothing therein demanding especial notice.
We conclude that the case was fairly tried, and the judgment is aettrmed.