Opinion · Indiana Court of Appeals
In re Peters
In re Peters, 65 Ind. App. 174 (Ind. Ct. App. 1917)
- Type
- Opinion
- Court
- Indiana Court of Appeals
- Jurisdiction
- Indiana
- Date
- 1917-06-28
- Topic
- general
Batman, J. Under the provisions of §61 of the Workmen’s Compensation Act (Acts 1915 p. 392), the Industrial Board has certified to this court certain questions of law based upon the facts presented by a proceeding pending before that body, seeking the opinion of this court for guidance in determining such proceeding. The statement of facts as submitted by the board is as follows: “A, a boy of 17 years of age, was in the *176employment of B on and. prior to the 16th day of February, 1916, at an average weekly wage of $12.75; that on said date he received a personal injury by an accident arising out of and in the course of his employment, resulting in his instant death; that the employer had actual personal knowledge of the injury and death at the time of the occurrence; that the employe left surviving him a father, 41 years of age, a mother, 40 years of age, a brother, 15 years of age, and a brother, 8 years of age; that the deceased, the father, the mother, and the two brothers were living together as a family at the time of his injury and death; that the father was working and receiving a weekly wage of $15.00; that the father owned no property and had no income with which to support the family except his own wages and the wages of the deceased; that the deceased had been working for two years prior to his death and during all. of said time had turned his wages over to his father weekly; that the wages of the deceased and the wages of the father went into a family fund which…
Citator
UpLaw has not yet analyzed In re Peters. The absence of a flag is not a finding that it is good law.
- Cited by
- 20 opinions
Under the provisions of §61 of the Workmen’s Compensation Act (Acts 1915 p. 392), the Industrial Board has certified to this court certain questions of law based upon the facts presented by a proceeding pending before that body, seeking the opinion of this court for guidance in determining such proceeding.
The statement of facts as submitted by the board is as follows: “A, a boy of 17 years of age, was in the
The father makes claim for compensation and claims that he is entitled to full compensation, or fifty-five per cent, of $12.75 for 300 weeks. First, the employer denies absolutely the dependency of the father; and second, that, if he is dependent, he is not entitled to full compensation.
Upon the foregoing facts the board submits the following questions: 1. Is the father of the deceased a dependent of the deceased son within the meaning of the Indiana Workmen’s Compensation Act? 2. If the father be a dependent, is he entitled to full compensation, viz., fifty-five per cent, of $12.75 for 300 weeks?
2. The meaning of the word “dependent,” when used in compensation and liability acts, has been frequently considered by various courts. The definitions given and applications made have not always been uniform, and hence authorities may be found to support various ascribed meanings. However, it has been uniformly held that want or distress need not exist before it can be said that the condition of dependency arises, and that a parent or his family need not reduce their expense of living below a reasonable standard in order to escape dependency and thereby absolve an employer from the payment of compensation who would otherwise be liable for the payment thereof. Dazy v. Apponaug Co. (1914), 36 R. I. 81, 89 Atl. 160; Matter of Rhyner v. Huber Bldg.
3. In harmony with the foregoing statement, and the authorities cited in support thereof, this court has recently said, in the case of In re Carroll (1917), ante 146, 116 N. E. 844: “To confine the inquiry to the question whether the family of the deceased workman could have supported life without any contributions from him, or whether such contributions were absolutely necessary in order that the family might be reasonably maintained, is not a fair test of dependency; but rather the inquiry should include the question whether contributions from the workman were looked to, depended and relied on, in whole or in part, by the family for means of reasonable support. Howells v. Vivian & Sons (1902), 85 L. T. 529; Powers v. Hotel Bond Co. (1915), 89 Conn. 143, 93 Atl. 245.” Following the rule thus stated, it is clear that the word “dependent” as used in the Indiana Workmen’s Compensation Act should be given a meaning broad enough to include the reasonable needs of a parent in the proper support of himself and his dependent family. Such construction is in accord with the decisions in many well-considered cases in other jurisdictions where compensation laws are in force with similar provisions.
4. Whether an applicant in any given case is entitled to compensation as a dependent will necessarily be determined from conditions and circumstances disclosed by the evidence. In the facts submitted it is stated that the weekly contributions made by the minor son to his father from his wages were used and required for the support of his family. This fact, taken in connection with other facts stated, would warrant the Industrial Board in drawing the infer
5. 6. The remaining question of law submitted relates to the amount of compensation to which the father is entitled by reason of the death of his minor son under the facts stated. The act in question, by §§37 and 38, recognizes two classes of dependents, viz., those wholly dependent, and those partially dependent. Inasmuch as the facts submitted show that the father was working and receiving a weekly wage, at the time of the injury and death of his son, of $15, which went into a family fund and was used for the support of his family, we conclude that such father was only partially dependent on the contributions made by the deceased son from his earnings. Section 37 of the act, supra, provides that the compensation to be received by such partial dependent shall “be in the same proportion to the weekly compensation for persons wholly dependent as the amount contributed by the deceased employe to such partial dependent bears to his annual earnings at the time of the injury.” The statement of facts shows that out of the family fund, composed of the earnings of both father and son, the father supported the whole family, providing a home, clothes and food for the deceased son, at a probable weekly cost of four dollars. The question then arises, Shall the cost of the maintenance of such deceased son be deducted from the earnings, contributed by him to his father for the support of his dependent family, in determining the amount of compensation to which such father is entitled as a partial dependent? A consideration of the purpose of the act and the authorities in other jurisdictions has led us to the conclusion that such deduction should not be made.
It is contended that a proper inquiry to be made,
7. The only remaining question is as to the amount of compensation to which such father is entitled under the facts stated. Having determined that the facts stated would justify the Industrial Board in concluding that such father is a partial dependent, and that a deduction of the cost of the son’s support is not authorized, we need only apply the rule laid down in §37 of the act, supra, to determine the amount of the compensation. Under this rule such father should receive, for a period of 300 weeks, that proportion of what he would have received, had he been wholly dependent, as what he actually received from his deceased son bears to his son’s annual earnings at the time of his death. As the father was receiving all his deceased son’s earnings at the time of his death, or 100 per cent, thereof, it follows that he will be
Note. — Reported in 116 N. E. 850. See note ante 158.