Opinion · Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit
Continental Insurance Co. v. Kenneth Bodie
Cont’l Ins. Co. v. Kenneth Bodie, 682 F.2d 436 (3d Cir. 1982)
- Type
- Opinion
- Court
- Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit
- Jurisdiction
- Federal
- Date
- 1982-06-28
- Topic
- general
OPINION OF THE COURT WEINER, District Judge. This is an appeal from the denial of plaintiff-appellant’s motion for summary judgment, grant of defendant-appellee’s cross-motion for summary judgment, and entry of judgment in favor of defendant-appellee and declaring defendant-appellee an insured driver under plaintiff-appellant’s liability insurance policy. Because we conclude that there are disputed issues of fact so that summary judgment was inappropriate in this matter, we shall remand for further proceedings. I. On August 8, 1975, Earl Drummond (Drummond) rented an automobile for a three day period from Preferred Rentals, Inc.
Citator
UpLaw has not yet analyzed Continental Insurance Co. v. Kenneth Bodie. The absence of a flag is not a finding that it is good law.
- Cited by
- 197 opinions
Thomas Alkon (argued), Christiansted, St. Croix, V. I., for appellee.
[4] On February 22, 1980, Pool brought a personal injury action against Bodie, who notified Continental, the insurer of the car. Continental disclaimed coverage and refused to defend, and subsequently filed this action for a declaratory judgment that Bodie was not insured under the policy issued by Continental to Preferred. In the interim, Pool recovered a $2,720,700.00 judgment against Bodie. This appeal followed grant of summary judgment in favor of Bodie and against Continental.
[6]Buntininvolved the very same policy of Continental providing insurance to Preferred, and a similar issue of coverage to one other than Preferred's permittee. We held there that where the insured vehicle was being used for the purposes and benefit of the named insured's permittee, and whilePage 438the permittee was travelling in the car, the person actually driving the car was included within the omnibus clause and was an additional insured under the policy.Id.
[7] TheBuntincourt then ruled that the so-called "omnibus clause" of the policy, rather than the conflicting Endorsement No. Two rider, was the controlling definition of "insured." The omnibus clause provides as follows:
[8] "III Definition of Insured
(a) With respect to the insurance for bodily injury liability and for property damage liability the unqualified word `insured' includes the named insured and, if the named insured is an individual, his spouse if a resident of the same household, and also includes any person while using the automobile and any person or organization legally responsible for the use thereof, provided the actual use of the automobile is by the named insured or such spouse or with the permission of either. The insurance with respect to any person or organization other than the named insured or such spouse does not apply."
[10] Following that conclusion, the court then rejected Continental's legal argument that permitted use under the omnibus clause extends only so far as to include coverage of one using the car while Preferred's original permittee (here, Drummond) is in the car at the same time, but not when that permittee is not in the car, as was the situation here. App. 511a. The district court also refused to deny coverage on the basis of Bodie being an unlicensed driver. App. 512a.
[12] Furthermore, "inferences to be drawn from the underlying facts contained in the evidential sources submitted to the trial court must be viewed in the light most favorable to the party opposing the motion."Hollinger v. Wagner Mining Equipment Co.,667 F.2d at 405;Goodman v. Mead Johnson Co.,534 F.2d 566, 573 (3d Cir. 1976),cert. denied,429 U.S. 1038, 97 S.Ct. 732, 50 L.Ed.2d 748 (1977). "Any reasonable inferences from the facts must be resolved in favor of the parties against whom the judgment is entered."Peterson v. Lehigh Valley DistrictCouncil, United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners,676 F.2d 81, at 84 (3d Cir. 1982);Betz Laboratories, Inc. v. Hines,647 F.2d 402, 404 (3d Cir. 1981).
[13] In applying these principles, this court has noted that "[s]ummary judgment is aPage 439useful procedure when there is no dispute about the critical facts and it serves to eliminate the expense and delay of unnecessary trials."Peterson v. Lehigh Valley DistrictCouncil,at 84. "However, when there is a disagreement about the facts or the proper inferences to be drawn from them, a trial is required to resolve the conflicting versions of the parties."Id.
[15] The question of how Bodie came into control of the car, and the exact nature of his use of the car are material issues of fact which go to whether that use was authorized by, or for the purposes and benefit of the insured's permittee, Earl Drummond, and thus whether as driver of the car Bodie is an additional insured under the omnibus clause.
[16] As already noted, the district court's opinion states that "Drummond turned over the rented car to his 25 year old brother, Kenneth Bodie, whom he had engaged to drive" members of the wedding party. App. 506a. The district court then went on to say that "Bodie was using the car for Drummond's purposes and benefit as he was transporting members of Drummond's daughter's wedding party when the accident occurred." App. 511a.
[17] The source of these "facts" relied on by the district court is not clear from the court's opinion, but appellant contends that the court improperly considered unsworn affidavits attached to and submitted in support of the cross motion for summary judgment of the defendant-appellee Bodie. According to appellant, it was Earl Drummond's son, Ernie Drummond, who turned the car over to Bodie. In his sworn deposition, Bodie has stated that it was Ernie who asked him to drive to pick up the bridesmaids. App. 48a. In addition, Bodie stated that no prior arrangements had been made with him to drive the car with the wedding party. App. 43a, 44a.
[18] Since summary judgment is premised upon the prerequisite of an absence of issues of material fact, the factual basis upon which such a disposition may be achieved must be free from doubt. Here, the uncertainty concerning facts which could affect a determination of the scope of Continental's policy coverage is sufficient to preclude the granting of summary judgment.
[19] Appropriate fact finding following a trial is necessary to establish the factual predicate for application of the insurance policy with regard to this particular defendant. This is, after all, not a situation in which we are asked to review facts already the subject of formal findings by the district court, nor are we confronted merely by a challenge to a legal analysis and interpretation which employs such facts. Rather, the case is an appeal from entry of summary judgment. Thus, as an initial consideration, and quite apart from whether either party may be entitled to judgment as a matter of law if the facts are undisputed, the cases cited above in Part III A. are resolutely clear in their holdings that a court must look at the facts in the light most favorable to the non-moving party, and draw all inferences accordingly. Resolving all doubts as to the existence of genuine issues of fact against the moving party,Hollinger v.Wagner Mining Equipment Co., supra,we have no choice but to remand this matter for trial. Only after the conflict in the facts as proclaimed by the parties is resolved by the fact finder can the law be properly applied.
[21] As regards Bodie's use of the car without a driver's license, the district court correctly observed that no express clause in the policy excludes coverage of an unlicensed driver. Accordingly, coverage ought not to be denied under a policy to be strictly construed against its drafter, Continental.See Buntinv. Continental Insurance Co.,583 F.2d at 1207,citing, interalia, Stroehmann v. Mutual Life Insurance Co. of New York,300 U.S. 435, 57 S.Ct. 607, 81 L.Ed. 732 (1937).
[22] Absence of the permittee of Preferred, Continental's insured, from the vehicle at the time of the accident similarly does not necessarily bar coverage of Bodie. As previously noted, inBuntin v. Continental Insurance Co., supra,this court found coverage for the driver, in addition to the renter of the car, where the vehicle was being used within the scope of the permitted use, and the renter was travelling in the car. However, artificially drawing the line for coverage of non-renter drivers of rental cars at presence of the renter in the car appears to us to be an ill conceived distinction. Though surely there comes a point at which it can be said that coverage ought be extended no further, presence or absence of the renter in the vehicle is not by itself so significant that coverage may be based solely on that factor. After all, merely because we can distinguish between situations in which the insured's permittee, the renter of the car, is or is not present in the car while it is being driven by another is not reason enough to automatically find legal significance in such distinction.
[23] A finding of coverage depends upon an evaluation of the totality of the circumstances involving use of the car by Bodie, following full development of all the relevant facts.
[24] Thus, whether Bodie should be found an additional insured is a matter for the district court on remand, and the court's determination of policy coverage may well be affected by facts which may come to light at trial. We do not purport to decide if Bodie is in fact an additional insured, but only to address the specific objections to coverage raised by appellant on this appeal.
[28] There is no dispute that Earl Drummond rented the car for the purpose of transporting members of his family to his daughter's wedding. There is also no question that Kenneth Bodie, the driver of the car, was, in fact, transporting members of the wedding party when the accident occurred. I am persuaded that the district court properly granted summary judgment against Continental, because the car was being used for Earl Drummond's purposes.
[29] InBuntin v. Continental Insurance Co.,583 F.2d 1201, 1207 (3d Cir. 1978), we concluded "[w]ithout question, the rental agency, and in turn its insurer, should have foreseen that the rented vehicle might well have come into the hands of a person other than the rentee." The majority recognizes this principle when they write that "[a]bsence of the permittee of Preferred [Earl Drummond], Continental's insured, from the vehicle at the time of the accident similarly does not necessarily bar coverage of Bodie." Majority Opinion, at 440. Further, inMarylandCasualty Co. v. Marshbank,226 F.2d 637(3d Cir. 1955), we concluded that the critical question in a coverage case is whether the car was being used with the permission of the named insured. There, a father permitted his son to borrow the family car for the purpose of taking his date and another couple to aPage 441movie theater. The son, in turn, relinquished the driving of the car to the other young man. In holding that this second driver was covered our court wrote:
In the present case the use to which the Marshbank automobile was being put at the time of the accident was precisely the use which Marshbank, the named insured, had agreed to permit, namely the conveyance of the four young people, including Charles, for the purpose of attending the moving picture theatre. In order to be used for this purpose it was necessary for the automobile to be operated by someone and, as Marshbank testified, he left that matter entirely up to his son.
[30] 226 F.2d at 640. I think a fair reading of theBuntinandMarshbankopinions leads to the conclusion that, since the car was being used for the purpose Earl Drummond intended, it is of no legal significance whether Kenneth Bodie received the car directly from Earl Drummond or from Ernie Drummond who received it from Earl.
- Honorable Charles R. Weiner, United States District Judge for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania, sitting by designation. ↩