Opinion · Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
Thomas L. Burton and Edith M. Burton v. State Farm Fire and Casualty Company
533 F.2d 177
- Type
- Opinion
- Court
- Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
- Jurisdiction
- Federal
- Date
- 1976-06-09
- Topic
- general
How later courts describe this case
- holding that policy provision which had previously been found ambiguous as applied to the facts of prior case and thus 16 construed against the insurer, was not ambiguous as applied to different set of facts in subsequent case
Citator
UpLaw has not yet analyzed Thomas L. Burton and Edith M. Burton v. State Farm Fire and Casualty Company. The absence of a flag is not a finding that it is good law.
- Authority status
- pending
- Cited by
- 21 opinions
BURTON v. STATE FARM FIRE CAS. CO.,533 F.2d 177(5th Cir. 1976)
THOMAS L. BURTON AND EDITH M. BURTON, PLAINTIFFS-APPELLEES, v. STATE FARM
FIRE AND CASUALTY COMPANY, DEFENDANT-APPELLANT.
No. 75-1192.
United States Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit.
June 9, 1976.
Rehearing and Rehearing Denied September 24, 1976.
Page 178
George K. Williams, Huntsville, Ala., for plaintiffs-appellees.
Before AINSWORTH, MORGAN and RONEY, Circuit Judges.
[2] It is the established law of Alabama, the forum state, that an insurance company is charged with the burden of proving that a particular loss falls within an exclusionary clause of an insurance policy.See Bankers Fire Marine Ins. Co. v.Contractors Equipment Rental Co.,276 Ala. 80,159 So.2d 198(1963). If the policy is ambiguous, then the ambiguity must be construed against the insurer and in favor of the insured.StateFarm Mutual Automobile Ins. Co. v. McInnish,284 Ala. 492,226 So.2d 149(1969).
[3] To meet its burden of proving that the casualty fell within an exclusionary provision of the policy, defendant insurance company presented uncontroverted evidence to establish that the plaintiffs' house was damaged when it fell into a limestone sinkhole. Both a civil engineer and a geologist testified to this effect. Their scientific assessmentPage 179is corroborated by the rapidity with which the house was destroyed. On a Wednesday Mr. Burton heard creaks and groans but could find no problems. On Thursday his wife heard an "explosive-like sound," and large cracks were visible throughout the home. On Friday the building was condemned.
[4] Defendant relied on the provision in the insurance policy which excludes from coverage loss "caused by, resulting from, contributed to or aggravated by any earth movement, including but not limited to earthquake, volcanic eruption, landslide, mudflow, earth sinking, rising or shifting . . .."
[5] To frame an ambiguity, plaintiff argues that in spite of the above exclusion, the loss apparently is covered by a provision insuring against "collapse of a building" which "ensues" from "settling, cracking, shrinkage, bulging or expansion of . . . foundations . . .."
[6] The existence of an ambiguity in an insurance contract is a question of law for the courts.Aetna Life Ins. Co., Inc. v.Hare,47 Ala. App. 478,256 So.2d 904,911(1972). In construing an insurance policy it is necessary to give effect and reasonable interpretation to all provisions. The courts are not to read one term alone, but must consider each term or provision in context with the other provisions of the policy.Smith v. Kennesaw LifeAcc. Ins. Co.,284 Ala. 12,221 So.2d 372(1969);Aetna LifeIns. Co., Inc. v. Hare, supra; Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v.Korneghy,37 Ala. App. 497,71 So.2d 292(1954).
[7] In applying this standard to the construction of the insurance policy before us, we think that the policy was not ambiguous. Our reading of the term "settling," in context, convinces us that this element of policy coverage refers to damage caused by action of the structure in response to gradual movement of the earth beneath the house. By contrast, "sinking" refers to a sudden earth movement, and clearly covers such phenomena as limestone sinkholes. The patent intent of the contracting parties was to establish insurance coverage of damage caused by gradual noncataclysmic earth movements. This Court is constrained to avoid the reshaping of intent expressed by the language of the policy as a whole.Smith v. Kennesaw Life Acc. Ins. Co.,supra.
[8] A policy may be unambiguous, as applied to one set of facts, but may take on characteristics of ambiguity in connection with other facts. Although involving different policy provisions than under consideration here, the facts in our recent case ofPeachState Uniform Service, Inc. v. American Ins. Co.,507 F.2d 996(5th Cir. 1975), distinguish that holding from the one which we reach in the instant case. There a building collapsed from the work of surface rain water, a natural phenomenon that might well be expected, which washed away uncompacted fill dirt from beneath the building's foundation following heavy rains. That case turned, in part, on whether the surface water action caused a loss excluded from insurance coverage by a clause pertaining to "[e]arthquake, volcanic eruption, landslide or other earth movement . . .." We held that as applied to those facts the policy was ambiguous and under Georgia law should be read against the insurer. The Court noted that the term "earth movement" could in a contractual context be read "as referring only to phenomena relating to forces operating within the earth itself . . .."Id.at 1000. That case does not help the plaintiffs here. The facts here demonstrate a clear difference between the excluded sinking, which occurred, and the included settling which envisions an entirely different cause of damage.
[9] Since the loss was caused by the sinking of the house into a limestone sinkhole, a phenomenon explicitly excluded from coverage, and since ambiguity was not present as a matter of law, there was no fact issue presented by the evidence to warrant submission to the jury. A directed verdict for the defendant was in order.Boeing Co. v. Shipman,411 F.2d 365,374-375(5th Cir. 1969).Page 180
[10] The judgment in favor of the plaintiffs is therefore reversed.
[11] REVERSED AND RENDERED.
[14] Apparently, the majority is not prepared to rely solely on this sudden-gradual distinction. The majority states, "the patent intent of the contracting parties was to establish insurance coverage of damage caused by gradual non-cataclysmic earth movements." I believe this statement shows a misunderstanding of Alabama law. The policy was an "all-risk" policy designed to cover all damage except those specifically excluded. If the majority's position is that the exclusions from coverage include only those earth movements that were "cataclysmic," there can be no question that the Burtons were insured for this damage. While the sink hole caused considerable damage to their home, it can hardly be referred to as cataclysmic. In short, this policy is contradictory, in one clause it excludes coverage and in a subsequent clause it specifically includes coverage for the damage that occurred here. In this case, the court's finding below of ambiguity is proper. Therefore, the able district judge properly instructed the jury, and the jury acting under these instructions made a finding for the policyholder which I feel should be affirmed.